Guillermo del Toro’s ‘The Strain’ Gets Series Order From FX

Production will begin this month for a July 2014 premiere

FX is catching Guillermo del Toro’s “The Strain.”

The network has given a 13-episode order to the drama from the “Pacific Rim” director, based on del Toro’s series of novels “The Strain,” “The Fall” and “The Night Eternal.”

Also read: Guillermo del Toro’s FX Pilot ‘The Strain’ Casts ‘Breaking Dawn’ Actress Mia Maestro in Starring Role

The project centers on the efforts of Centers for Disease Control employee Dr.  Ephraim Goodweather (“House of Cards” star Corey Stoll) to save New York City from a vampiric virus that’s contaminating the city, after a Boeing 777 makes a mysterious arrival at JFK. Goodweather and his team are called upon to investigate a mysterious viral outbreak with hallmarks of an ancient and evil strain of vampirism.  As the strain spreads, Eph, his team, and an assembly of everyday New Yorkers, wage war for the fate of humanity itself.

Del Toro and Chuck Hogan, who co-wrote the books,  co-wrote the pilot, with del Toro directing the pilot.

Also read: Guillermo Del Toro, Microsoft Crash Qualcomm’s CES Opening

Carlton Cuse (“Lost,” “Nash Bridges”) is executive producing and overseeing the project with del Toro, and will serve as writer and showrunner. Gary Ungar (“Gothika”) is also executive producing.

The cast also includes “Breaking Bad” actress Mia Maestro and Sean Astin.

“‘The Strain’ books are near and dear to my heart and now, Chuck and I have the blessing of a partnership with Carlton and FX that holds great promise,” del Toro said of the series. “Working with FX has yielded an amazing experience with total creative freedom and support.”

“Working with visionary filmmaker Guillermo del Toro and the team at FX has been a dream come true for me,” Cuse added. “Guillermo’s epic, cinematic pilot for The Strain starts a chilling and compelling story that will upend everything you thought you knew about vampires.”

Production will begin this month for a July 2014 premiere.

Kevin Durand, Natalie Brown, Jonathan Hyde, Richard Sammel, Robert Maillet, Jack Kesy, Ben Hyland, and Miguel Gomez are also among the series’ ensemble cast.  John Hurt had also previously been cast, but his role, Professor Abraham Setrakian, is being recast.