Hanks, Bening Join Governors Awards Lineup

Academy announces more participants and attendees for Saturday’s honorary Oscar presentation.

Last Updated: November 9, 2009 @ 3:13 PM

Tom Hanks, Annette Bening and cinematographer Caleb Deschanel have joined the lineup of celebrities slated to participate in Saturday’s Governors Awards, the new event at which the Academy will salute this year’s four honorary Oscar winners.

The new names join previously announced participants Jonathan Demme, Kirk Douglas, Angelica Huston and Quentin Tarantino in paying tribute to honorary Oscar recipients Lauren Bacall, Roger Corman and Gordon Willis, and Irving Thalberg G. Memorial Award recipient John Calley.

In making the announcement this afternoon, the Academy also confirmed that those attending the show will include Maria Bello, Kathryn Bigelow, Peter Bogdanovich, Jeff Bridges, James Cameron, Abbie Cornish, Joe Dante, Dana Delany, Tom Ford, Dennis Hopper, Ron Howard, Vera Farmiga, Lawrence Kasdan, Jeffrey Katzenberg, Anna Kendrick, Virginia Madsen, Paula Patton, Ryan Phillippe, Gabourey Sidibe and Julie Taymor. Also expected to attend are a remarkable 40 of the Academy’s 43 governors.

This list is far from completely; a number of other participants, including some of the evening’s biggest names, are being kept secret.  "We have the advantage of not needing to draw viewers to a television program, so we can keep a lot of names as surprises," show producer Bruce Cohen told theWrap this afternoon.

The Governors Awards will take place at the Grand Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland this Saturday night.  It will not be televised, though it will be filmed; footage will be provided to television and online outlets, and some will likely be shown on the Oscar telecast next March 7.

(Photo: Darren Decker/AMPAS)