We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Hawaii Five-0’ to End After 10 Seasons

CBS gives drama a 2-hour April finale

CBS’ “Hawaii Five-0” will end its run after 10 seasons.

The network has set a two-hour series finale on Friday, April 3.

“It’s never easy to say goodbye to a hit franchise that carried on the legacy of the original with such distinction while establishing its own signature style,” said Kelly Kahl, President, CBS Entertainment. “From episode one, ‘Hawaii Five-0’ has been a huge success for us. Thanks to the amazing talents of the producers, writers, cast and crew, it has played a key role for a decade on our schedule and helped establish our powerhouse Friday night. We cannot be prouder of its quality, longevity and are thankful for the passionate fan-devotion it inspired.”

The series, developed by Peter Lenkov, Alex Kurtzman and Roberto Orci, was a remake of Leonard Freeman’s 1970s-era series. It starred Alex O’Loughlin and Scott Caan, along with Ian Anthony Dale, Meaghan Rath, Beulah Koale, Katrina Law, Taylor Wily, Dennis Chun, Kimee Balmilero and Chi McBride. “Hawaii Five-0” went through a major casting overhaul following its seventh season, when original co-stars Daniel Dae Kim and Grace Park left after a salary dispute.

“‘Hawaii Five-0’ has been such a blessing to me and all of the people who have worked on this incredible show,” said Lenkov, who led the show throughout its run. “I truly learned the meaning of ‘ohana’ as the viewers embraced us and the people of Hawaii welcomed us with the privilege to film on their shores. I am forever indebted to the creative genius that was Leonard Freeman who gave us such a beautiful story to begin with. And my eternal gratitude to our cast, led by our hero Alex O’Loughlin, the writers, the production team, our CBS ohana, and most importantly YOU, the fans, who allowed us to come to work with pride and made our series such a success. Mahalo.”

The series initially ran on Mondays before moving to Fridays where it was a strong performer for CBS alongside “Blue Bloods.”

In the two-hour finale, recurring cast members James Marsters (Victor Hesse), William Sadler (John McGarrett) and Mark Dacascos (Wo Fat) will return. It will have produced 240 episodes by the end of its run.