Here Are All the Songs in ‘Firefly Lane’ Season 2

From Whitney Houston to Sheryl Crow, the music has your nostalgic transport covered


“Firefly Lane” Season 2 has arrived, and with it comes another loaded lineup of signature songs for the seventies, eighties, nineties and early 2000s. Throughout the shifts between three separate timelines in Tully and Kate’s friendship, needle drops help distinguish which part of their lives we’re watching, especially when it gets confusing between the older versions of Kate Mularkey Ryan (Sarah Chalke) and Tully Hart (Katherine Heigl). Kristin Hannah’s 400+ page novel off of which the television show is based uses certain songs and lyrics to introduce the new decades, or parts of the book, like ABBA’s “Dancing Queen,” Pat Benatar’s “Love Is a Battlefield” and more.

Season 2 boasts two Whitney Houston songs — “I’m Every Woman” and “How Will I Know” — Cyndi Lauper’s “True Colors,” The Knack’s “My Sharona,” Chaka Khan’s “Ain’t Nobody” and “Closer to Fine” by The Indigo Girls.

More modern cuts include “The First Cut Is the Deepest” by Sheryl Crow, “So Sorry” by Feist and the devastating Coldplay’s “The Scientist” to accompany that dreadful cliffhanger ending.

Here are all the songs in “Firefly Lane” Season 2 Part 1.

Episode 1 – “Wish You Were Here”

  • “Love Will Keep Us Together” by Captain & Tennille
  • “Sternenhimmel” by Hubert Kah
  • “Hip Shakin” by Harlow
  • “Baby, Give Me Some Love Back” by Terry Webster
  • “True Colors” by Cyndi Lauper

Episode 2 – “On the Road”

  • “I Got a Name” by Jim Croce
  • “Military Stars and Stripes Forever” by Bobby Morgenstein productions
  • “Summertime” by The Pretty Things
  • “Jesus Is Alright” by The Doobie Brothers
  • “The Virgin” by Gene Clark
  • “Can’t Find My Way Home” by Blind Faith 

Episode 3 – “I’m Coming Out”

  • “Closer to Fine” by The Indigo Girls
  • “My Sharona” by The Knack
  • “Let’s Go Down” by Terry Reid
  • “Finally” by Cece Peniston

Episode 4 – “Papa Don’t Preach”

  • “Funny How Time Slips Away” by Willie Nelson
  • “I’m Every Woman” by Whitney Houston
  • “Vinyl Store” by Carlos Sarmiento & Marco Siniscalco
  • “You Mean Everything to Me” by Four Tracks
  • “Here” by Luscious Jackson
  • “Come and Get It: by The Steppers
  • “Houses” by Elyse Weinberg

Episode 5 – “Simple Twist of Fate”

  • “Are You Ready for the Sex Girls” by Gleaming Spires
  • “Ask Me No Questions” by Bridget St. John

Episode 6 – “Reborn on the Fourth of July”

  • “Go For It” by Spirit of Brotherhood
  • “Lion” by Modern Sound Quartet
  • “Milkshake” by Kelis
  • “Magic Man” by Heart
  • “Feels So Good” by Daniel Dove, Richard Searle & Patrick Hagenaar
  • “We’re Breakin’ Out” by Knight Ryder, Jermain Brown & Calico
  • “The Star-Spangled Banner” 
  • “Is That All There Is?” by Peggy Lee

Episode 7 – “Good Riddance/Time of Your Life”

  • “Hot Pants” by Alan Parker & Alan Hawkshaw
  • “You Got Me” by Nicolas Dagnall, Stella Talpo & Penguin Asylum
  • “How Will I Know” by Whitney Houston
  • “Ain’t Nobody” by Chaka Khan

Episode 8 – “All Apologies”

  • “Accused of Stealing” by The Delgados
  • “So Sorry” by Feist

Episode 9 – Total Eclipse of the Hart

  • “Dido’s Lament” by Simone Dinnerstein & Tift Merritt
  • “Where Evil Grows (feat. Terry Jacks & Susan Jacks) by The Poppy Family
  • “The First Cut Is the Deepest” by Sheryl Crow
  • “Reykjavik” by Girosan and Lesiman
  • “See the Herald Angels Swing” by Geoffrey Gascoyne, William Cummings & Felix something
  • “The Scientist” by Coldplay

Episode 10 – “All the World’s A Stage”

  • “(Don’t Fear) the Reaper” by Blue Oyster Cult
  • “Claire de Lune” by Claude Achille Debussy & Thomas Peter Howe
  • “Hello, It’s Me” by Chris Croften

Episode 11 – “The Breast Is Yet To Come”

  • “Both Sides Now” by Joni Mitchell

Episode 12 – “Time After Time”

  • “Steam Computing” by Loïc Desplangues
  • “Only You” by Yazoo

Episode 13 – “Can’t Fight This Feeling”

  • “Blinded by the Light” by Manfred Mannis Earth Band
  • “Landslide” by Fleetwood Mac

Episode 14 – “I Can’t Go On, I’ll Go On”

  • “Mandy” by Barry Manilow
  • “Chapel of Love” by The Dixie Cups
  • “Time After Time” by Cyndi Lauper (instrumental piano version)
  • “Push It” by Salt n Pepa
  • “U Really Got It Goin’ On” by Maria Mendez
  • “Harder Before It Gets Easier” by David Wax Museum

Episode 15 – “Moondance”

  • “My Sunshine Girl” by The Radiants
  • “She’s A Bad Mama Jama” by Carl Carlton
  • “Chandelier” by Sia
  • “Dance Until Tomorrow” by Lavender Diamond
  • “Wedding March”

Episode 16 – “This Must Be the Place”

  • “Dancing Queen” by ABBA
  • “Blues Run the Game” by Laura Marlong
  • “Homeward Bound” by Annalisa Tornfelt

Here is a playlist with most of the needle drops that layer “Firefly Lane.”