We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘House of Cards’ Creator Will Become Next WGA East President

Beau Willimon is running unopposed in guild’s upcoming election

“House of Cards” creator Beau Willimon is set to become the next president of the Writers Guild of America, East, as he is running unopposed in the guild’s upcoming officer and council elections, according to a list of candidates posted on the WGAE’s website.

Willimon, who was on the guild’s negotiating committee that hammered out a deal with studios and producers earlier this year, will succeed Michael Winship, who opted not to run for re-election. Incumbent vice president Jeremy Pikser and secretary-treasurer Bob Schneider are also running unopposed.

The annual meeting and council election will take place on September 19, with online voting starting August 23. Elected council members will serve two-year terms beginning September 20.

In addition to the three officer posts, six freelance and three staff seats are up for election this year. Freelance members work in screen, television and digital media, while staff members work in television, radio and digital news organizations.

The 10 candidates for the six open freelance seats are Amy Sohn, David Handelman, Stu Zicherman, Tracey Scott Wilson, Susan Kim, Bill Scheft, Bonnie Datt, David Simon, Courtney Simon and Andrea Ciannavei. Kim, Scheft, Datt, Courtney Simon and Ciannavei are incumbents.

The five  candidates for the three open Staff seats are Kim Kelly, Jay Alpert, Phil Pilato, Hamilton Nolan and David Keller. Pilato and Keller are incumbents.

Please fill out this field.