We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘House of Cards’ Names New Showrunners for Season 5

Melissa James Gibson and Frank Pugliese to succeed Beau Willimon, who leaves after four seasons

Netflix’s “House of Cards” has tapped Melissa James Gibson and Frank Pugliese to serve as showrunners for the show’s fifth season.

The pair were promoted to succeed Beau Willimon, who is leaving the show after four seasons at the helm.

“I welcome Frank and Melissa in their new roles on House of Cards and look forward to collaborating with them and our creative team on Season Five,” said executive producer Kevin Spacey, who also stars on the political drama as President Frank Underwood.

Pugliese and Gibson both joined the series’ writing staff in Season 3.

“House of Cards” also stars Robin Wright, Michael Kelly, Mahershala Ali, Jayne Atkinson, Neve Campbell, Derek Cecil, Nathan Darrow, Kim Dickens, Elizabeth Marvel, Dominique McElligott, Molly Parker and Paul Sparks, with Ellen Burstyn, Cicely Tyson and Joel Kinnaman.

Season 4 of “House of Cards” debuts with 13 episodes on Friday, March 4.