We've Got Hollywood Covered

Hulu’s ‘Utopia Falls’ Trailer Finds Futuristic Teens Discovering Hip-Hop for the First Time (Video)

Musical sci-fi series premieres on Valentine’s Day

Hulu has dropped the trailer for its upcoming sci-fi series “Utopia Falls,” and the trailer finds teenagers, hundreds of years in the future, discovering an ancient relic called hip-hop.

“Whoa. How’s he doing that so fast?” one teen says to another in the trailer, as they watch a rapper in a hip-hop music video for the very first time in their lives.

“I have no idea,” replies the fellow teen. “Why would they keep something like this from us?”

Watch the trailer above.

The sci-fi hip-hop series will feature the voice of Snoop Dogg, and music from artists including Kendrick Lamar, Alessia Cara, The Notorious B.I.G., Daniel Caesar, Jessie Reyez, Bill Withers and The Roots.  

Here is the official description for the series, which premieres Feb. 14 on Hulu:

“Hundreds of years in the future, in the last living colony on earth, a city called New Babyl, twenty-four teenage candidates are chosen to take part in an annual musical competition known as The Exemplar. For all of them it’s a chance to write their names in the history books, but for Aliyah, the independent and adventurous daughter to a city government official, it’s the beginning of an incredible adventure. Through the discovery of a mysterious archive, she is exposed to hip-hop, an ancient form of music culture, which will lead her to question everything she has ever known and change her world forever.

The journey to unravel that mystery will play out over the course of the first season while our candidates prepare and participate in The Exemplar competition. Channeling the rebellious spirit of Hip-hop, Aliyah and her friends face off against the government for the freedom of the people in a finale that will rock the very foundation of their society, changing all of their lives forever.”

Music on the series will be overseen by Boi-1da, who has produced artists including Drake, Nicki Minaj and Rihanna. Choreographer to the stars Tanisha Scott will lead performance direction. Joseph Mallozzi will be the showrunner. The series was created by R.T. Thorne, who also directs.

Snoop Dogg will voice “the Archive.” The series stars Robyn Alomar (“Riot Girls”), Akiel Julien (“American Gods”), Robbie Graham-Kuntz (“Full Out”), Phillip Lewitski (“Supernatural”), Humberly Gonzalez (“Orphan Black”), Devyn Nekoda (“Degrassi: The Next Generation”) and Mickeey Nguyen (“Make It Pop”). Other cast members include Kate Drummond (“Wynonna Earp”), Jeff Teravainen (“Dark Matter”), Huse Madhavji (“Saving Hope”) and Dwain Murphy (“The Strain”).