IFP Gotham Awards 2017: Complete Winners List

“Call Me by Your Name” wins best feature, while acting honors go to James Franco, Saoirse Ronan and Timothée Chalamet

Call Me By Your Name Timothée Chalamet Armie Hammer
Sony Pictures Classics

Luca Guadagnino’s romantic drama “Call Me by Your Name” has been named the best feature of 2017 at the IFP Gotham Awards, which are given out annually to celebrate the best in independent film.

The last three Gotham Award winners — “Birdman,” “Spotlight” and “Moonlight” — have gone on to win Best Picture at the Academy Awards.

Saoirse Ronan won the Best Actress award for “Lady Bird,” James Franco won Best Actor for “The Disaster Artist” and “Call Me by Your Name” actor Timothée Chalamet was named the breakthrough star of 2017.

Writer-director Jordan Peele won the Breakthrough Director award and the screenplay award for “Get Out.” His film also won the Gotham Audience Award, which is open to any film nominated in the Best Feature, Best Documentary and Breakthrough Director categories.

The FX series “Atlanta” won the award for the best longform television series.

Actor-filmmaker John Cameron Mitchell hosted the annual awards, an early entrant in the awards derby recognizing the year’s best independent cinema — and some television too.

Previously announced tributes went to director Sofia Coppola, actors Dustin Hoffman and Nicole Kidman, producer Jason Blum, cinematographer Ed Lachman and humanitarian and climate-change activist Al Gore. The cast of “Mudbound” won a special award for ensemble performance.

Over the 13 years since the Gotham Awards introduced the Best Feature category, the winner has subsequently won the Oscar only four times — but those four have all come in the last eight years, including the last three years in a row.

See this year’s Gotham Awards winners below (with the winners in bold).

Best Feature
“Call Me by Your Name” *WINNER

“The Florida Project”
“Get Out”
“Good Time”
“I, Tonya”

Best Documentary
“Ex Libris – The New York Public Library”
“Rat Film”
“Strong Island” *WINNER
“Whose Streets?”
“The Work”

Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award
Maggie Betts for “Novitiate” (Sony Pictures Classics)
Greta Gerwig for “Lady Bird” (A24)
Kogonada for “Columbus” (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)
Jordan Peele for “Get Out” (Universal Pictures) *WINNER
Joshua Z Weinstein for “Menashe” (A24)

Best Screenplay
“The Big Sick”, Emily V. Gordon and Kumail Nanjiani (Amazon Studios)
“Brad’s Status,” Mike White (Amazon Studios)
“Call Me by Your Name,” James Ivory (Sony Pictures Classics)
“Columbus,” Kogonada (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)
“Get Out,” Jordan Peele (Universal Pictures) *WINNER
“Lady Bird,” Greta Gerwig (A24)

Best Actor
Willem Dafoe in “The Florida Project” (A24)
James Franco in “The Disaster Artist” (A24) *WINNER
Daniel Kaluuya in “Get Out” (Universal Pictures)
Robert Pattinson in “Good Time” (A24)
Adam Sandler in “The Meyerowitz Stories (New and Selected)” (Netflix)
Harry Dean Stanton in “Lucky” (Magnolia Pictures)

Best Actress
Melanie Lynskey in “I Don’t Feel at Home in This World Anymore” (Netflix)
Haley Lu Richardson in “Columbus” (Superlative Films/Depth of Field)
Margot Robbie in “I, Tonya” (NEON)
Saoirse Ronan in “Lady Bird” (A24) *WINNER
Lois Smith in “Marjorie Prime” (FilmRise)

Breakthrough Actor
Mary J. Blige in “Mudbound” (Netflix)
Timothée Chalamet in “Call Me by Your Name” (Sony Pictures Classics) *WINNER
Harris Dickinson in “Beach Rats” (NEON)
Kelvin Harrison, Jr. in “It Comes at Night” (A24)
Brooklynn Prince in “The Florida Project” (A24)

Special Gotham Jury Award for ensemble performance
“Mudbound,” Carey Mulligan, Garrett Hedlund, Jason Clarke, Jason Mitchell, Mary J. Blige, Rob Morgan, and Jonathan Banks. *WINNER

Gotham Audience Award
“Call Me By Your Name”
“Ex Libris: The New York Public Library”
“The Florida Project”
“Get Out” *WINNER
“Good Time”
“I, Tonya”
“Lady Bird”
“Rat Film”
“Strong Island”
“Whose Streets?”
“The Work”

Breakthrough Series – Long Form
“Atlanta,” Donald Glover, creator; Donald Glover, Dianne McGunigle, Paul Simms, executive producers (FX Networks) *WINNER
“Better Things,” Pamela Adlon, Louis C.K., creators; Dave Becky, M. Blair Breard, Louis C.K., Pamela Adlon, executive producers (FX Networks)
“Dear White People,” Justin Simien, creator; Yvette Bowser, Justin Simien, Stephanie Allain, Julia Lebedev, executive producers (Netflix)
“Fleabag,” Phoebe Waller-Bridge, creator; Phoebe Waller-Bridge, Harry Williams, Jack Williams, executive producers (Amazon)
“Search Party,” Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, creators; Sarah-Violet Bliss, Charles Rogers, Michael Showalter, Tony Hernandez, Lilly Burns, executive producers (TBS)

Breakthrough Series – Short Form
“555,” Kate Berlant, Andrew DeYoung and John Early, creators (Vimeo)
“Inconceivable,” Joel Ashton McCarthy, creator (YouTube)
“Junior,” Zoe Cassavetes, creator (Blackpills and VICE)
“Let Me Die a Nun,” Sarah Salovaara, creator (Vimeo)
“The Strange Eyes of Dr. Myes,” Nancy Andrews, creator (YouTube) *WINNER