It’s ‘Tinker, Tailor, Soldier,’ Winner at World Soundtrack Awards

Alberto Iglesias wins Soundtrack of the Year Award for "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" as well as Film Composer of the Year honors

Alberto Iglesias' music for the espionage film "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" was named the year's best film score at the World Soundtrack Awards 2012 on Saturday in Ghent, Belgium. Iglesias was also named Film Composer of the Year for "TTSS" and two other scores, "The Skin I Live In" and "Le Moine."

Frazer Harrison/Getty ImagesBecause the World Soundtrack Awards do not adhere to a calendar-year eligibility period, many of the honored films were actually released in late 2011. Other winners included Bryan Byrne (Discovery of the Year, and Best Original Song for "Lay Your Head Down" from "Albert Nobbs") and Albel Korzeniowski (Public Choice Award for his score for Madonna's much-maligned "W.E.").

The ceremony took place on the closing night of the Ghent Film Festival, and included the presentation of a World Soundtrack Lifetime Achievement Award to composer Pino Donaggio.

During and after the ceremony, the Brussels Philharmonic performed film music by a variety of composers. 

The Ghent Film Festival also announced its winners, which included Miguel Gomes' "Tabu" and Olivier Assayas' "Apres Mai."

Film Composer of the Year:
Alberto Iglesias: for "Le Moine" ("The Monk"), "La Piel Que Habito" ("The Skin I Live In") and "Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy"

Best Original Film Score of the Year 2012:
"Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy" by Alberto Iglesias

Best Original Song Written for Film:
"Lay Your Head Down" from "Albert Nobbs"
Music: Brian Byrne / Lyrics: Glenn Close / Performed by: Sinead O’Connor           

Discovery of the Year:
Brian Byrne for "Albert Nobbs"

Public Choice Award:
Abel Korzeniowski for "W.E."

Sabam Award for Best Young European Composer:
Valentin Hadjadj

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Pino Donaggio

Certificate of Outstanding Recognition:
Brussels Philharmonic


The Grand Prize for Best Film: "Tabu" by Miguel Gomes

The Georges Delerue Prize for Best Music & Sound Design: "Apres Mai" by Olivier Assayas

Special Mention: "Kid" by Fien Troch

EFA 2013 Prize for Best European Short: "As Ondas" by Miguel Fonseca

National Lottery Prize for Best Belgian Student Short: "De Naam Van de Vader" by Timothy Josha Wennekes

Honorable Mention: "Corps Perdu" by Lukas Dhont


Joseph Plateau Honorary Award: Paolo & Vittorio Taviani

Joseph Plateau Honorary Award: Emmanuelle Riva