‘Jeopardy’ Rematch? James Holzhauer and Emma Boettcher, Who Beat Him, Join ‘Tournament of Champions’

No Ken Jennings though

Last Updated: July 10, 2019 @ 10:54 AM

“Jeopardy” hero James Holzhauer and the woman who finally beat him, Emma Boettcher, have both signed on to the show’s 2019 “Tournament of Champions.” And no, Ken Jennings isn’t involved — he was not eligible, a “Jeopardy” spokeswoman told TheWrap.

This tournament only includes winners from Seasons 34 and 35. The 15 contestants will compete for a grand prize of $250,000 over a 10-day period from Nov. 4 – 15.

Holzhauer’s 32-game, $2,462,216 winning streak made him a household name this year — but it ended just shy of Jennings’ all-time winnings record of $2,520,700 when Boettcher stopped the trivia-machine in his tracks on June 3, just $58,484 away from the record.

Following the show’s airing, Holzhauer said, “I never really believed I could win 75 shows, but I definitely thought I had a great shot at Ken’s cash winnings record.” Now, he has one more chance to regain his former glory.

The complete contestant roster is as follows:

Name Hometown Season   Total Winnings Games Won
James Holzhauer Las Vegas, Nev. 35 $2,462,216 32
Josh Hill North Little Rock, Ark. 34 $163,721 7
Ryan Fenster Seatac, Wash. 34 $156,497 7
Kyle Jones Aurora, Colo. 35 $145,403 7
Rob Worman Edina, Minn. 34 $133,900 6
Alan Dunn Johns Creek, Ga. 35 $120,802 5
Steven Grade Atlanta, Ga. 35 $115,501 5
Eric R. Backes Round Rock, Texas 35 $105,602 4
Anneke Garcia Salt Lake City, Utah 35 $104,497 4
Lindsey Shultz Pittsburgh, Penn. 35 $101,002 4
Emma Boettcher Chicago, Ill. 35 $97,002 3
Gilbert Collins Princeton, N.J. 34 $84,201 5
Rachel Lindgren Bend, Ore. 34 $75,999 5
Dhruv Gaur Gainesville, Ga. 34 $100,000 College Champion
Francois Barcomb New Paltz, N.Y. 35 $100,000 Teachers Champion


The news
you need now,
more than ever.

Create a FREE Account
Try PRO today