We've Got Hollywood Covered

Jennifer Fox to Return to Produce Academy’s 2019 Governors Awards

Wes Studi, David Lynch, Lina Wertmüller and Geena Davis to receive honorary awards

Jennifer Fox is returning to produce the 11th Annual Governors Awards for the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences, Academy president David Rubin announced Wednesday.

Honorary awards will be presented to director David Lynch, actor Wes Studi and director Lina Wertmüller, and the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award will be presented to actress Geena Davis on Sunday, Oct. 27, at the Ray Dolby Ballroom at Hollywood & Highland Center.

“This year’s Governors Awards recipients are emblematic of the diversity, global scope, and bold artistry the Academy seeks to represent and celebrate. We are so fortunate to have Jennifer Fox returning to create a tribute to four artists who’ve made such a lasting cultural impact,” Rubin said in a statement.

“It is an honor to be asked to come back and produce the Governors Awards,” Fox said. “David Lynch, Lina Wertmüller, Wes Studi, and Geena Davis are groundbreakers and I’m looking forward to celebrating their extraordinary accomplishments.”

Fox produced last year’s Governors Awards as well. Her credits include Tony Gilroy’s directorial debut “Michael Clayton,” which earned seven Oscar nominations, as well as “Good Night, and Good Luck,” “The Bourne Legacy,” “Nightcrawler” and “Roman J. Israel, Esq.” She most recently produced the Netflix film “Velvet Buzzsaw” and the Sundance release “The Report” starring Adam Driver and opening this fall.

The Honorary Award, an Oscar statuette, is given “to honor extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award, also an Oscar statuette, is given “to an individual in the motion picture arts and sciences whose humanitarian efforts have brought credit to the industry.”

The 11th Annual Governors Awards is proudly supported by Rolex, the Exclusive Watch of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.