‘Jeopardy,’ ‘Wheel of Fortune’ Renewed Through 2016 on ABC-Owned Stations

Re-ups will bring "Wheel of Fortune" and "Jeopardy" into their 33rd and 32nd seasons, respectively

Last Updated: October 29, 2012 @ 11:16 AM

Fear not, "Jeopardy" and "Wheel of Fortune" fans; there are at least four more years of answers in the form of questions and letter-turning thrills to come.

Both "Jeopardy" and "Wheel of Fortune" have been renewed through 2016 on the ABC Owned Television Stations Group, CBS Television Distribution said Monday.

Also read: Alex Trebek "In Good Spirits" After Heart Attack

The renewal extends the syndicated mainstays for two more years past their current contracts with the ABC-owned television stations that run them, which include New York's WABC-TV; Los Angeles' KABC-TV; Chicago's WLS-TV; Philadelphia's WPVI-TV; San Francisco's KGO-TV; Raleigh-Durham, N.C.'s WTVD-TV; and Fresno, Calif.'s KSFN-TV. All told the markets covered by the stations account for 21 percent of U.S. households.

The re-up will bring "Wheel of Fortune" into its 33rd season and "Jeopardy" into its 32nd season. Though "Jeopardy" host Alex Trebek had hinted recently that he's been mulling retirement, both he and "Wheel of Fortune" co-hosts Pat Sajak and Vanna White recently renewed their contracts through the 2015-2016 season.

Also read: Pat Sajak and Vanna White Got Bombed Before "Wheel of Fortune"

"Wheel of Fortune" is the top syndicated game show, drawing 30 million viewers a week. "Jeopardy" holds the Number 2 spot, with 25 million viewers a week.