Ryan Murphy’s ‘Hollywood’ Netflix Series Adds Jim Parsons, Dylan McDermott, Samara Weaving and 4 More

Maude Apatow, Joe Mantello, Laura Harrier and Jake Picking also join limited series

Hollywood cast
Getty Images

Jim Parsons, Dylan McDermott, Samara Weaving, Maude Apatow, Joe Mantello, Laura Harrier and Jake Picking have been added to the cast of Ryan Murphy’s “Hollywood,” an upcoming limited series at Netflix, a spokesperson for the streaming service told TheWrap on Friday.

“Hollywood,” which is co-created by Murphy and Ian Brennan, received a straight-to-series order at Netflix back in February. Previously announced cast members include Jeremy Pope, Darren Criss and David Corenswet — who are the three leads and also executive producers on the show — as well as Patti LuPone and Holland Taylor.

Little else has been revealed about “Hollywood,” except that Murphy calls it “a love letter to the Golden Age of Tinseltown” and principal photography on the show got underway this summer.

McDermott has been cast as a character named Ernie, Weaving will play Claire, Parsons is set as Henry Wilson, Apatow will play Henrietta, Mantello has the role of Dick, Harrier will play Camille and Picking will portray actor Rock Hudson.

The show is one of many projects Murphy has set up at Netflix since signing his mega-deal with the streaming service in February 2018, including “The Politician” (which launched today), “One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest” prequel “Ratched” starring Sarah Paulson, a series adaptation of “A Chorus Line” and a limited series biopic about the designer Halston, starring Ewan McGregor. Murphy is also developing several documentary series, including one about a lesbian couple who came out in their 80s and another, a 10-part project about Andy Warhol.

On the film side, Murphy is set to direct an adaptation of the play “The Boys in the Band” with its starry 2018 Broadway revival cast and produce an adaptation of the Broadway musical “The Prom” starring Meryl Streep, Nicole Kidman, James Corden, Ariana Grande, Awkwafina, Keegan-Michael Key and Andrew Rannells.