‘La La Land’ Stars Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling to Be Honored at Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Actors to receive Outstanding Performers of the Year award at 32nd annual event

Last Updated: November 18, 2016 @ 9:10 AM

“La La Land” stars Emma Stone and Ryan Gosling will be awarded the Outstanding Performers of the Year award at the upcoming 32nd annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival.

This marks the first time Stone has been honored by the festival and will be a return for Gosling who was the inaugural recipient of the Cinema Vanguard Award in 2008.

The tribute, which will take place at Santa Barbara’s historic Arlington Theatre, will be moderated by SBIFF’s executive director Roger Durling. The 32nd annual Santa Barbara International Film Festival will take place from Feb. 1 through Feb. 11, with Gosling and Stone’s awards presentation taking place on Feb. 3.

“Ryan and Emma’s luminous performances in ‘La La Land’ remind us of the transformative and magical role of cinema,” Durling said. “We are so proud to celebrate them and this incredible film and its nod to the classic love stories of Old Hollywood with a contemporary twist.”

Written and directed by Academy Award nominee Damien Chazelle, “La La Land,” set in modern day Los Angeles, tells the story of Mia (Stone), an aspiring actress, and Sebastian (Gosling), a dedicated jazz musician, who are struggling to make ends meet in a city known for crushing hopes and breaking hearts.

Gosling and Stone will join a recognized group of previous Outstanding Performer Award recipients, including Brie Larson and Saoirse Ronan, Steve Carell, Cate Blanchett, Jennifer Lawrence, Viola Davis, James Franco, Colin Firth, Penelope Cruz, Angelina Jolie, Helen Mirren, Heath Ledger, Kate Winslet and Charlize Theron.


Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.