Mary J Blige, George Clinton, Rachel Bloom, Anderson Paak Board Universal’s ‘Trolls World Tour’

J Balvin, Ester Dean, Gustavo Dudamel, Ozzy Osbourne, Kenan Thompson and Charlyne Yi also join the voice cast. 

Getty Images

Mary J. Blige, Rachel Bloom, Anderson .Paak and funk legend George Clinton are packing their bags and going on tour as trolls — well, their voices are.

Universal Pictures announced on Wednesday that Blige, Bloom, Clinton and Paak have joined the voice cast of “Trolls World Tour,” the follow-up to the studio’s 2016 animated feature “Trolls.”

The first film grossed $346.9 million worldwide, and actors Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick and James Corden return to voice their characters for the sequel.

Grammy-nominated artist J Balvin, Ester Dean (“Pitch Perfect”), Gustavo Dudamel (“The Nutcracker and the Four Realms”), Ozzy Osbourne, Kenan Thompson, Charlyne Yi (“The Disaster Artist”) are all joining as well.

The studio previously announced that Flula Borg, Kelly Clarkson, Jamie Dornan, Anthony Ramos, Sam Rockwell and Karan Soni would voice new characters in the film.

In “Trolls World Tour” Poppy (Kendrick) and Branch (Timberlake) go on an adventure that will take them well beyond what they’ve known before, as they discover that they are but one of six different Troll tribes scattered over six different lands and devoted to six different kinds of music: funk, country, techno, classical, pop and rock.

“Trolls World Tour” is being directed by Walt Dohrn, who served as co-director on “Trolls,” and is produced by returning producer Gina Shay. The film is co-directed by David P. Smith and co-produced by Kelly Cooney Cilella, both of whom worked on the first “Trolls.”

“Trolls World Tour” will also feature original music by Timberlake, who earned an Oscar nomination for his song “Can’t Stop the Feeling!”

Universal will release “Trolls World Tour” on April 17, 2020.

Balvin is represented by WME; Bloom is represented by UTA, 3 Arts Entertainment and Ginsburg Daniels Kallis; Dean is represented by The Lede Company; Dudamel is represented by WME; Osbourne is represented by WME, Sharon Osbourne Management and Manatt, Phelps & Phillips, LLP.

Paak is represented by CAA; Thompson is represented by UTA, Michael Goldman Management and Del, Shaw, Moonves, Tanaka, Finkelstein & Lezcano; Yi is represented by UTA, Mosaic and Ginsburg Daniels Kallis; Clinton is represented by 421 Management; Blige is represented by APA and Grubman Shire & Meiselas.