We've Got Hollywood Covered
|

Mayweather v McGregor: What Time Is the Main Event?

The PPV technically starts soon, but you’ve got PLENTY of time to use the bathroom

Ladies and gentlemen, are you ready to rumble? Pace yourself, people.

Saturday night’s big boxing pay-per-view — headlined by Floyd “Money” Mayweather Jr. vs. “The Notorious” Conor McGregor, in case you haven’t heard — officially kicks off at 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT. Those shelling out $100 for the event will want to find a comfy seat for the next few hours, however.

Tonight’s main event will not start before 11 p.m. ET/8 p.m. PT, and it’s technically and tentatively slated for 55 minutes after that.

These things are always fluid, however, completely dependent upon the undercard fights. Oh, and given all the posturing and promotion leading up to this much-hyped showcase of hand speed, we wouldn’t at all be surprised if it’s officially Sunday morning on the east coast before the combatants emerge from their respective locker rooms.

When it will actually end is an entirely different story, of course. The battle for the gaudy Money Belt is set for 12 rounds of three minutes apiece, with 60 seconds between each round. McGregor has guaranteed he’ll knock Mayweather Jr. out inside of the first four rounds. Slick defensive stud Mayweather Jr. says he’s coming out swinging too, though we’ll see about that.

If this thing goes the distance, which would be a good sign for the actual professional pugilist, well, you do the math — and then put on a pot of coffee.