Michael Apted, Jon Favreau and Jace Alexander Elected to DGA Offices

Michael Apted is elected Secretary-Treasurer of the Directors Guild; Jon Favreau and Jace Alexander join the board

Directors Michael Apted, Jon Favreau, Jace Alexander and Todd Holland have been elected to offices in the DGA, the guild said Monday.

Apted, who directed "The Chronicles of Narnia: The Voyage of the Dawn Treader," "Coal Miner's Daughter" and "The World is Not Enough," among others, is the guild's new secretary-treasurer.

Also read: Michel Hazanavicius Wins DGA Award for 'The Artist'

A former DGA president, Apted (right) was elected on Sunday to fill the position left open when Gil Cates died last fall. After Cates' death, Apted was appointed until an election could be scheduled.

Board alternate Jon Favreau, who directed "Iron Man," "Iron Man 2" and "Cowboys & Aliens," among other movies, was elected to take the board seat that Apted had occupied. "Malcolm in the Middle" director Todd Holland was elected to Favreau's former position as an alternate member of the board.

Meanwhile, Ed Sherin resigned his board seat. The former national vice president, second vice president and long-time board member, was replaced on the board by Jace Alexander. Alexander is known for directing "Law & Order" and "Rescue Me," among other television shows.

The DGA held its election during Sunday's national board meeting.