More Critics Kudos for ‘Basterds,’ ‘Locker’

Three more critics groups chime in, honoring Quentin Tarantino and Kathryn Bigelow

Last Updated: December 22, 2009 @ 9:32 AM

Another day, another batch of critics groups giving awards. This time it’s the St. Lous Film Critics Association, the Phoenix Film Critics Society, and the London Film Critics Circle.

The St. Louis group, which offered some surprising choices when it released its list of nominees last week, played it a little safer with the winners:

Best Film: “Up in the Air”

Runner-Up: “The Hurt Locker”
Best Actor: George Clooney in “Up in the Air”

Runner-Up: Patton Oswalt in “Big Fan”
Best Actress: Carey Mulligan in “An Education”
Runner-Up: Gabourey Sidibe in “Precious”
Best Supporting Actor: Christoph Waltz in “Inglorious Basterds”

Runner-up: Stanley Tucci in “The Lovely Bones”
Best Supporting Actress: Mo’Nique in “Precious”

Runner-Up: Marion Cotillard in “Nine”
Best Director: Kathryn Bigelow in “The Hurt Locker”

Runners-Up (tie): Jason Reitman for “Up in the Air” and Quentin Tarantino for ‘Inglourious Basterds”
Best Screenplay: Scott Neustadter and Michael H. Weber for ‘(500) Days of Summer”

Runner-Up: Jason Reitman and Sheldon Turner for “Up in the Air”
Best Cinematography: Dion Beebe for “Nine”

Runner-Up: Eduard Grau for “A Single Man”
Best Music: “Nine”

Runner-Up: “Crazy Heart”
Best Visual Effects: “Avatar”

Runner-Up: “Where the Wild Things Are”
Best Foreign Language Film: “Red Cliff”
Runner-Up: “Treeless Mountain”
Best Documentary: “Capitalism: A Love Story”

Runner-Up: “Anvil! The Story of Anvil”
Best Animated Film: “Up”

Runner-Up: “The Fantastic Mr. Fox”
Best Comedy: “The Hangover”

Runner-Up: “(500) Days of Summer”
Most Original, Innovative or Creative Film: “Avatar”

Runner-Up (tie): “The Fantastic Mr. Fox” and “(500) Days of Summer”
Favorite Scene: “Up” – the four-minute marriage montage
Runner-Up: “Inglourious Basterds” – the opening farmhouse scene

Not to be outdone, the Phoenix Film Critics Society opted for crowd-pleasers: “Inglourious Basterds” won best picture, while “Sherlock Holmes” made its first appearance on a critics’ group’s top 10 list.

Best Picture: “
Inglourious Basterds”

Top Ten Films of 2009 (in alphabetical order)
District 9”
(500) Days of Summer
“The Hurt Locker”
Inglourious Basterds” (left)
Sherlock Holmes”
Star Trek”
Up In The Air”

Best Director: Quentin Tarantino, “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Performance by an Actor in a Lead Role: 
George Clooney, “Up In The Air”
Best Performance by an Actress in a Lead Role: 
Meryl Streep, “Julie & Julia”
Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role: 
Christoph Waltz, “Inglourious Basterds”
Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role: 
Mo’Nique, “Precious”
Best Acting Ensemble:
 “Inglourious Basterds”
Best screenplay written directly for the screen: “
Best screenplay adapted from another medium: “
Up In The Air”
Best Live Action Family Film: “
Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince”
Overlooked Film: “Moon”
Best Animated Film: “Up”
Best Foreign Language Film: “
Broken Embraces”
Best Documentary: “Capitalism: A Love Story”
Best Original Song: “The Weary Kind” from “Crazy Heart”
Best Original Score: “
Best Cinematography: “Avatar”
Best Film Editing: “Avatar”
Best Production Design: “Avatar”
Best Costume Design: “The Young Victoria”
Best Visual Effects: “
Best Stunts: “
Star Trek”
Breakout on Camera: Gabourey Sidibe, “Precious”
Breakout Behind the Camera: 
Neill Blomkamp, “District 9”
Best Performance by a Youth – Male: Jae Head, “The Blind Side”
Best Performance by a Youth – Female: 
Saoirse Ronan, “The Lovely Bones”

In London, meanwhile, the critics offered their nominations, not winners – though in honor of their group’s 30th anniversary, they did throw in a list of the 10 best winners over the years.

Film of the Year:
“The Hurt Locker”
“A Prophet”
“The White Ribbon”
“Up in the Air”

The Attenborough Award: British Film of the Year:
“Bright Star”
“An Education”
“Fish Tank”
“In the Loop” (right)

Foreign Language Film of the Year:
“The Class”
“Let the Right One In”
“A Prophet”
“The White Ribbon”

Director of the Year:
Jacques Audiard – “A Prophet”
Kathryn Bigelow – “The Hurt Locker”
James Cameron – “Avatar”
Michael Haneke – “The White Ribbon
Jason Reitman – “Up in the Air”

British Director of the Year:
Andrea Arnold – “Fish Tank”
Armando Iannucci – “In the Loop”
Duncan Jones – “Moon
Kevin Macdonald – “State of Play”
Sam Taylor-Wood – “Nowhere Boy”

Actor of the Year:
Jeff Bridges – “Crazy Heart
George Clooney – “Up in the Air”
Tahar Rahim – “A Prophet”
Michael Stuhlbarg – “A Serious Man
Christoph Waltz – “Inglourious Basterds”

Actress of the Year:
Abbie Cornish – “Bright Star”
Vera Farmiga – “Up in the Air”
Mo’Nique – “Precious”
Carey Mulligan – “An Education”
Meryl Streep – “Julie & Julia

British Actor of the Year:
Peter Capaldi – “In the Loop”
Colin Firth – “A Single Man
Tom Hardy – “Bronson”
Christian MacKay – “Me and Orson Welles”
Andy Serkis – “Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll”

British Actress of the Year:
Emily Blunt – “The Young Victoria”
Helen Mirren – “The Last Station”
Carey Mulligan – “An Education”
Katie Jarvis – “Fish Tank”
Kristin Scott Thomas – “Nowhere Boy”

British Actor in a Supporting Role:
Michael Fassbender – “Fish Tank”
John Hurt – “44 Inch Chest”
Jason Isaacs – “Good”
Alfred Molina – “An Education”
Timothy Spall – “The Damned United”

British Actress in a Supporting Role:
Emily Blunt – “Sunshine Cleaning”
Anne-Marie Duff – “Nowhere Boy”
Rosamund Pike – “An Education”
Kierston Wareing – “Fish Tank”
Olivia Williams – “An Education”

Screenwriter of the Year:
Jesse Armstrong, Simon Blackwell, Armando Iannucci & Tony Roche – “In the Loop”
Thomas Bidegain & Jacques Audiard – “A Prophet”
Joel & Ethan Coen – “A Serious Man”

Michael Haneke – “The White Ribbon”
Nick Hornby – “An Education”

The NSPCC Award: Young British Performer of the Year:
Katie Jarvis – “Fish Tank”
Aaron Johnson – “Nowhere Boy” and “Dummy”
George MacKay – “The Boys Are Back”
Bill Milner – “Is Anybody There?” and “Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll”
Saoirse Ronan – “The Lovely Bones”

Breakthrough British Film-Maker:
Daniel Barber – “Harry Brown
Armando Ianucci – “In the Loop”
Duncan Jones – “Moon”
Peter Strickland – “Katalin Varga”
Sam Taylor-Wood – “Nowhere Boy”

Dilys Powell Award for Excellence in Cinema:
Quentin Tarantino


30TH Anniversary Award: Best of our Winners Since 1980:
1. “Apocalypse Now” (Francis Ford Coppola, 1980)

2. “Schindler’s List” (Steven Spielberg, 1994)
3. “The Lives of Others” (Florian Henckel von Donnersmarck, 2007)
4. “Unforgiven” (Clint Eastwood, 1992)
5. “Brokeback Mountain” (Ang Lee, 2005)

6. “Cinema Paradiso” (Giuseppe Tornatore, 1990)

7. “ L.A. Confidential” (Curtis Hanson, 1997)
8. “Fargo” (Joel Coen, 1996)

9. “ Distant Voices, Still Lives” (Terence Davies, 1989)

10. “The King of Comedy” (Martin Scorsese, 1983)