NBC’s 2018 Olympics Coverage Will Air Simultaneously in Every US Time Zone

The XXIII Olympic Winter Games will take place in PyeongChang, South Korea

For the first time ever, NBC will broadcast all of the 2018 Winter Olympic programming at the same time across all time zones, the broadcast network announced Tuesday.

The XXIII Olympic Winter Games will take place in PyeongChang, South Korea, and all events will be be broadcast simultaneously across all US timezones in daytime, primetime and late night.

“Nothing brings America together for two weeks like the Olympics, and that communal experience will now be shared across the country at the same time, both on television and streaming online,” said Jim Bell, President, NBC Olympics Production & Programming, in a statement. “That means social media won’t be ahead of the action in any time zone, and as a result, none of our viewers will have to wait for anything. This is exciting news for the audience, the advertisers, and our affiliates alike.”

On most nights of the 2018 Olympic Winter Games, the primetime broadcast will begin at 8 p.m. ET, 7 p.m. CT, 6 p.m. MT, and 5 p.m. PT. It will be followed in all time zones by local news, and then a “Primetime Plus” program, consisting of live continuing coverage from PyeongChang. A replay of the primetime program will follow “Primetime Plus.”

Keep
Reading...

Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.