Netflix Orders ‘Anatomy of a Scandal’ Anthology Series From David E. Kelley

Melissa James Gibson will co-showrun 6-part series alongside Kelley


Netflix has ordered a new thriller anthology series called “Anatomy of a Scandal” based on the best-selling book by Sarah Vaughan.

David E. Kelley (“Big Little Lies” ) and Melissa James Gibson (“House of Cards”) have been set as co-showrunners, writers and executive producers.

“Anatomy of a Scandal” is described as an insightful and suspenseful series about a sexual consent scandal amongst British privileged elite and the women caught up in its wake. The novel follows Sophie and her husband James, who is a politician on trial for a nasty crime, as well as Kate, the attorney prosecuting him.

The series will consist of six hourlong episodes and will be shot in the UK.

Other executive producers include Liza Chasin (“The Loudest Voice,” “Baby Driver”) of 3Dot Productions, Bruna Papandrea (“Gone Girl,” “Big Little Lies”), Steve Hutensky and Allie Goss of Made Up Stories along with Vaughan, and Margaret Chernin as co-executive producer.

S.J. Clarkson (“Jessica Jones,” “The Defenders”) will direct all six episodes as well as executive produce.

Kelley is also writing and producing another thriller series adapted from a book. “The Big Sky,” in the works at ABC, is based on C.J. Box’s Cassie Dewell novels. Kathryn Winnick is set to star alongside Kylie Bunbury, with Ryan Phillippe, John Carroll Lynch and Dedee Pfeiffer also in the cast.