We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘New Girl': Final Season Premiere Date Announced, 1-Hour Series Finale in Store

TCA 2018: Eight-episode run to include guest stars Damon Wayans, Jr., Dermot Mulroney, Jamie Lee Curtis and Rob Reiner

“New Girl” will return on Tuesday, April 10 with an eight-episode final season. The ensemble comedy is set to have a special one-hour finale on Tuesday, May 15.

The premiere date for the seventh and final season of the Fox series was announced by the network on Thursday.

As the series’ sixth season came to a close last spring, Jess (Zooey Deschanel) told Nick (Jake Johnson) of her true feelings for him. Also, Winston (Lamorne Morris) and Aly (Nasim Pedrad) got engaged, and Cece (Hannah Simone) and Schmidt (Max Greenfield) received news that they are expecting. When the series returns for its final season, it will take place three years after the events of the sixth season. Jess and Nick are happily together and returning from a whirlwind European book tour; stay-at-home dad Schmidt and working mom Cece are raising their daughter, Ruth; and Winston and Aly are married, with a child on the way.

In addition to Pedrad, the last season of the sitcom will feature several fan-favorite guest stars, including Damon Wayans, Jr. (Coach), Dermot Mulroney (Jess’ ex Russell), David Walton (Jess’ other ex Sam), Nelson Franklin (Cece’s ex Robby), Sam Richardson (Winston’s partner Dunston), and Jamie Lee Curtis and Rob Reiner as Jess’ parents. Actors making their series debut as guest stars are JB Smoove (“Curb Your Enthusiasm”) and Tig Notaro (“One Mississippi”).

Elizabeth Meriwether, Brett Baer, Dave Finkel, Jake Kasdan, Peter Chernin, Katherine Pope and Erin O’Malley will executive produce.

Last season, “New Girl” averaged a 0.9 rating and 2 million viewers — comparable to other Fox comedies like “Brooklyn Nine-Nine” and “The Last Man on Earth” that already got picked up. The rating grew to 1.6 after a week of on-demand viewing.

The seventh and final season of “New Girl” will premiere on April 10 at 9:30 p.m. ET on Fox.