We've Got Hollywood Covered

Vince McMahon’s New XFL Reveals 8 Team Names, Logos (Video)

Let’s see if this one lasts more than 1 season

Vince McMahon’s second try at the XFL announced its eight team names and logos on Wednesday morning.

The rebooted league, which had an ill-fated attempt that lasted just one season in 2001, will begin play next February on the weekend following Super Bowl LIV. Here are the eight teams, with teasers for each in the video above:

  • St. Louis Battlehawks
  • Tampa Bay Vipers
  • The New York Guardians
  • Seattle Dragons
  • Houston Roughnecks
  • Los Angeles Wildcats
  • DC Defenders
  • Dallas Renegades

“The XFL is about football and fun, and our team identities are intended to signify just that,” XFL President and COO, Jeffrey Pollack said. “Now it’s up to our fans and players to help write the story. What happens on the field and in the community, in the years ahead, will determine the true spirit of each team.”

The XFL will air its (second) inaugural season on ESPN, ABC, Fox and Fox Sports 1, kicking off Feb. 8 and 9, 2020. The rebooted league will air two games apiece on Saturday and Sunday, with its championship scheduled for April 26 on ESPN. The deal gives both Fox and ESPN even more pro football and something to fill the weekend schedule during the NFL’s long offseason, while it gives ABC pro football for the first time since it lost “Monday Night Football” after the 2005 season.

Vince McMahon announced the XFL’s relaunch back in January 2018, promising a “fan-centric, innovative experience” that includes “shorter, fast-paced games and a family-friendly environment.” The first edition of the XFL was a disaster for McMahon and NBC, which aired the league’s only season in 2001. The original XFL was beset by poor play and even worse TV ratings — in 2001, NBC did not yet have “Sunday Night Football” which aired on ESPN at the time.

Earlier this year, a separate professional league called the Alliance of American Football was attempted, led by former Indianopolis Colts general manager Bill Polian and Charlie Ebersol, the son of former NBC executive Dick Ebersol. The elder Ebersol partnered with McMahon on the first attempt of the XFL.

The AAF didn’t even make it through one full season before it had to shut down over poor finances.

The new XFL will play in the following venues: New York (MetLife Stadium), Dallas (Globe Life Park in Arlington), Houston (TDECU Stadium), Los Angeles (StubHub Center), St. Louis (Dome at America’s Center), Seattle (CenturyLink Field), Tampa Bay (Raymond James Stadium) and Washington, D.C. (Audi Field).

You can see each team’s logo below: