Oscars to Start Half Hour Earlier, May Finally End Before Dawn (Video)

Jimmy Kimmel will master 2018 ceremonies beginning at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT

Last Updated: December 4, 2017 @ 7:48 AM

East Coasters may actually be able to stay awake for Best Picture this year — the 90th Oscars will begin a half-hour earlier than usual, starting at 8 p.m. out by the Atlantic Ocean instead of 8:30.

That means the official 90-minute Oscars Pre-Show will begin at 6:30 p.m. ET/3:30 p.m. PT.

As previously announced, Jimmy Kimmel will return to host the 2018 best-in-film awards; Michael De Luca and Jennifer Todd are back to produce.

The 2018 Academy Awards will be held on Sunday, March 4 at the Dolby Theatre in Hollywood. They’ll again be televised on ABC.

And with any luck, the producers will have straightened out the backstage envelope situation this time around.

Watch a promo for the 2018 Oscars above.