We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Parasite,’ ‘Jojo Rabbit’ Win Top Awards From American Cinema Editors

TV winners include ”Fleabag,“ ”Better Things,“ ”Killing Eve“ and ”Game of Thrones“


“Parasite” and “Jojo Rabbit” have won the top feature-film awards at the American Cinema Editors’ 70th Annual ACE Eddie Awards, which were handed out on Friday night in Beverly Hills.

Both winners are nominated for the film-editing Oscar, along with “Ford v Ferrari,” “The Irishman” and “Joker.” Although those three films are more typical editing winners, “Parasite” beat them all in the Best Edited Feature Film (Drama) category, while “Jojo Rabbit” topped “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” for Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy).

The win for “Parasite” was only the second ACE Eddie win in history for a non-English film. In 2007, “Babel” (which, unlike “Parasite,” included portions in English) tied with “The Departed” for the award.

Over the last 10 years, six of the ACE Eddie winners for dramatic film have gone on to win the Oscar for Best Film Editing, but only two have won Best Picture.

“Toy Story 4” won the prize for animated film, while “Apollo 11” and “What’s My Name: Muhammad Ali” won in the feature and non-theatrical documentary categories, respectively.

Television awards went to episodes of “Better Things,” “Fleabag,” “Killing Eve,” “Game of Thrones,” “Chernobyl” and “VICE Investigates.”

Also at the ceremony, producer Lauren Shuler Donner received the ACE Golden Eddie Award, while editors Alan Heim and Tina Hirsch received Career Achievement Awards and Cathy Repola was given the ACE Heritage Award.

The show took place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel in Beverly Hills.

The winners:

Best Edited Feature Film (Drama): “Parasite,” Jinmo Yang
Best Edited Feature Film (Comedy): “Jojo Rabbit,” Tom Eagles
Best Edited Animated Feature Film: “Toy Story 4,” Axel Geddes, ACE
Best Edited Documentary (Feature): “Apollo 11,” Todd Douglas Miller
Best Edited Documentary (Non Theatrical): “What’s My Name: Muhammad Ali,” Jake Pushinsky, ACE
Best Edited Comedy Series for Commercial Television: “Better Things”: “Easter,” Janet Weinberg, ACE
Best Edited Comedy Series for Non-Commercial Television: “Fleabag”: “Episode 2.1,” Gary Dollner, ACE
Best Edited Drama Series for Commercial Television: “Killing Eve”: “Desperate Times,” Dan Crinnion
Best Edited Drama Series for Non-Commercial Television: “Game of Thrones”: “The Long Night,” Tim Porter, ACE
Best Edited Miniseries or Motion Picture for Television: “Chernobyl”: “Vichnaya Pamyat,” Jinx Godfrey & Simon Smith
Best Edited Non-Scripted Series: “VICE Investigates”: “Amazon on Fire,” Cameron Dennis, Kelly Kendrick, Joe Matoske, Ryo Ikegami
Anne V. Coates Award for Student Editing: Chase Johnson – California State University, Fullerton