We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Parasite’ Wins Best Picture From National Society of Film Critics: Complete Winners List

Top acting honors go to Antonio Banderas and Mary Kay Place

Bong Joon Ho‘s “Parasite” won Best Picture from the National Society of Film Critics, which met at the Film Society of Lincoln Center in New York City on Saturday to choose its winners for the 54th time. The South Korean drama also won Best Screenplay from the group.

The society recognized two indies for the top acting prizes: Mary Kay Place for “Diane” and Antonio Banderas for Pedro Almodóvar’s “Pain and Glory.” The supporting acting honors went to Brad Pitt for “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” and Laura Dern for her work in both “Marriage Story” and “Little Women.”

The National Society of Film Critics was established in 1966, with its co-founders including Pauline Kael, Joe Morgenstern and Richard Schickel. The group currently has 60 active members. Members who have not seen most or all of the contending films can disqualify themselves from voting.

For most of its history, the NSFC’s choices have been more idiosyncratic than the Academy’s, and often more oriented toward foreign cinema. Recent winners have included Jean-Luc Godard’s “Goodbye to Language,” the Coen brothers’ “Inside Llewyn Davis,” Michael Haneke’s “Amour,” Lars von Trier’s “Melancholia,” Paul Thomas Anderson’s “There Will Be Blood” and Greta Gerwig’s “Lady Bird.” Chloe Zhao’s “The Rider” won last year.

Only seven films in the group’s first 53 years won the NSFC’s top award and went on to win the Best Picture Oscar, including “Spotlight” in 2016 and “Moonlight” in 2017.

The 2019 National Society of Film Critics winners:

Best Picture:
Runners-up: “Parasite” (44 points)
Runners-up: “Little Women” (27 points); “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” (22 points)

Best Actor: Antonio Banderas, “Pain and Glory” (69 points)
Runners-up: Adam Driver, “Marriage Story” (43 points); Adam Sandler, “Uncut Gems” (41 points)

Best Actress: Mary Kay Place, “Diane” (40 points)
Runners-up: Zhao Tao, “Ash Is Purest White” (28 points) Florence Pugh, “Midsommar” (25 points)

Best Supporting Actor: Brad Pitt, “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” (64 points)
Runners-up: Joe Pesci, “The Irishman” (30 points) Wesley Snipes, “Dolemite Is My Name” and Song Kang Ho, “Parasite” (18 points, tie)

Best Supporting Actress: Laura Dern, “Marriage Story” and “Little Women” (57 points)
Runners-up: Florence Pugh, “Little Women” (44 points) Jennifer Lopez, “Hustlers” (26 points)

Best Director: Greta Gerwig, “Little Women” (39 points)
Runners-up: Bong Joon Ho, “Parasite” (36 points); Martin Scorsese, “The Irishman” (31 points)

Best Screenplay: Bong Joon Ho and Han Jin Won, “Parasite” (37 points)
Runners-up: Quentin Tarantino, “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” (34 points); Greta Gerwig, “Little Women” (33 points)

Best Cinematography: Claire Mathon, “Portrait of a Lady on Fire” and “Atlantics” (41 points)
Runners-up: Robert Richardson, “Once Upon a Time … in Hollywood” (29 points); Yorick Le Saux, “Little Women (22 points)

Best Nonfiction Film: “Honeyland” (33 points)
Runners-up: “American Factory” (28 points); “Apollo 11,” (27 points)

Film Heritage Award: “To the Museum of Modern Art for ‘Private Lives, Public Spaces,’ curated by Ron Magliozzi, which makes visible MoMA’s collection of more than 100 years of vernacular moving images, most of them home movies by the famous and unknown.” And to “Rialto Pictures, in its 22nd year, for distributing 4k restorations of beloved classics like ‘Kind Hearts and Coronets’ and presenting neglected work by masters such as ‘The White Sheik’ and, for the first time, the uncut version of ‘Christ Stopped at Eboli.'”

Brian Welk contributed to this report.