We've Got Hollywood Covered

Paris Barclay Reelected President of Directors Guild of America

DGA elected a new slate of officers and members of the National Board of Directors

Director Paris Barclay has been re-elected to a second term as President of the Directors Guild of America, the DGA announced on Saturday.

The election was made by acclamation at the guild’s National Biennial Convention at DGA headquarters in Los Angeles. Other officers elected included Jon Favreau, Betty Thomas and Thomas Schlamme.

Voting was done by 138 delegates representing the 16,000-plus members of the DGA, which includes directors, assistant directors, stage managers, unit production managers, associate directors, production associates and location managers.

Barclay was first elected to a two-year term as DGA president in 2013, ending a decade in which the guild was led by presidents, Michael Apted and Taylor Hackford, who were best known for their film work. Barclay’s career has focused on TV, with more than 150 episodes of such shows as “In Treatment,” “Glee,” “NYPD Blue,” “Weeds” and “Sons of Anarchy.” He won the DGA Award for “NYPD Blue” and also won two Emmys for that show.

Also read: Women, Minority First-Time Directors Get Shaft on TV Scripted Series

“We continue to advance a vision first conceived by masters of our craft nearly 80 years ago, and while our mission remains the same, we’re part of an industry and world changing at the speed of light,” said Barclay in a statement. “I’m proud to serve alongside the Guild’s newly elected leadership to protect the creative and economic rights of our members. It’s the most challenging, most complex, and ultimately the most rewarding thing I have ever been asked to do.”

Prior to serving as president, Barclay served four terms as the DGA’s first vice president and three terms as third vice president.

His committee work at the guild includes co-chairing the African American Steering Committee from 2000-2002 and co-chairing the Diversity Task Force from 2004-2013. He has also served on the Single-Camera Creative Rights Negotiating Committee, the Single Camera Directors Prep Program (which he created) and the DGA Political Action Committee.

See photos: Cannes Wrap Magazine Directors Portfolio: 10 Esteemed Auteurs Showing at the Festival (Photos)

The complete list of DGA officers for the 2015-2017 term:

Paris Barclay

National Vice-President
Vincent Misiano

Michael Apted

Assistant Secretary-Treasurer
Scott Berger

First Vice-President
Betty Thomas

Second Vice-President
Jace Alexander

Third Vice-President
Thomas Schlamme

Fourth Vice-President
Rosemary Rodriguez

Fifth Vice-President
Jon Favreau

Sixth Vice-President
John LiBretto

Board Members
Karen Gaviola
Lesli Linka Glatter
Brooke Kennedy
Cleve Landsberg
Michael Mann
Don Mischer
Christopher Nolan
Scott Rindenow
Liz Ryan
Steven Spielberg
Mary Rae Thewlis

Alternate Board Members
Jon Avnet
Gary Donatelli
Valerie Faris
Zetna Fuentes
Todd Holland
Ron Howard
Nicole Kassell
Randal Kleiser
Jonathan Mostow
Kimberly Peirce
Donald Petrie
Bethany Rooney
Millicent Shelton
Ondi Timoner
Carl Weathers
Glenn Weiss
Michael Zinberg

Associate Board Members
Alan Curtiss
Julie Gelfand
Duncan S. Henderson
Dennis W. Mazzocco
Kathleen McGill

Second Alternate Board Members
Lee Blaine
Tim Engle
Keith Greer
Louis Guerra
Jennie O’Keefe
Barbara Roche