‘Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales’ Starts Production, Unveils Premise

“Rosewater” actress Golshifteh Farahani will join Johnny Depp and Javier Bardem on the high seas

Golshifteh Farahani from “Rosewater” and “Exodus: Gods and Kings” has joined the cast of Disney and Jerry Bruckheimer Films’ sequel “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales,” which just started production in Australia.

Johnny Depp returns to star as Captain Jack Sparrow alongside Oscar winner Javier Bardem and rising stars Kaya Scodelario and Brenton Thwaites, while returning cast members include Geoffrey Rush as Barbossa, Kevin R. McNally as Joshamee Gibbs and Stephen Graham as Scrum.

“Kon-Tiki” filmmakers Espen Sandberg and Joachim Rønning are directing the fifth entry in the blockbuster franchise inspired by the classic Disney Theme Parks attraction, which has grossed $3.7 billion in worldwide box office. “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales” will film entirely at Village Roadshow Studios and on locations within Queensland, Australia.

Thrust into an all-new adventure, a down-on-his-luck Capt. Jack Sparrow finds the winds of ill-fortune blowing even more strongly when deadly ghost pirates led by his old nemesis, the terrifying Captain Salazar (Bardem), escape from the Devil’s Triangle, determined to kill every pirate at sea… including him. Captain Jack’s only hope of survival lies in seeking out the legendary Trident of Poseidon, a powerful artifact that bestows upon its possessor total control over the seas.

Jerry Bruckheimer is producing “Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales,” which was written by Jeff Nathanson (“Catch Me If You Can”). The executive producers are Chad Oman, Joe Caracciolo, Jr. and Brigham Taylor.

Rønning and Sandberg most recently served as executive producers and directed the first two episodes of Netflix’s big-scale mini-series “Marco Polo,” which they filmed on exotic locations in Malaysia, Kazakhstan and Venice. A second season was recently announced for “Marco Polo,” with Rønning and Sandberg continuing on as executive producers.