‘Pretty Little Liars’ Star Janel Parrish Reveals Chapter 1 of ‘Journeys of John and Julia’ Book (Exclusive Audio & Video)

ABC Family actress also introduces web series “Best Friends Book Club”

Last Updated: August 4, 2014 @ 10:14 AM

It’s unclear if she’s on the “A” team, but Janel Parrish earns the mark in literacy.

The “Pretty Little Liars” star reads the audiobook version of “The Journeys of John and Julia: Genesis,” which was released by Rigler Creative on Thursday and penned by author Aurelia.

In addition to — and in support of — the book, Parrish will introduce a new 13-part weekly unscripted web series format called “Best Friends Book Club,” which targets young viewers in 3-5 minute episodes. The online video series begins next week on YouTube.

TheWrap exclusively received Chapter 1 of the audio book and Episode 1 of the accompanying web series, posted below.

See photos: James Franco Steps Up Bed Selfie Game With ‘Pretty Little Liars’ Buddy, Naked Seth Rogen Paintings

“I really loved the story,” Parrish explained in a statement. “I thought it was such a nice coming of age story about finding yourself and believing in yourself and sticking true to how you really feel. I definitely hope and think that ‘PLL’ fans will really identify with the book.”

“As an emerging publisher, we were also looking for a fresh and innovative way to help get the word out and ‘The Best Friends Book Club’ is the perfect platform,” added Rigler Creative founder Thomas Rigler. “The result is truly captivating while also educational. We feel it’s a next-gen approach to launching books.”

The “John and Julia” series contains seven books. Rigler also produces KCET TV series “City Walk.”

Also read: ‘Pretty Little Liars’ Boss Talks Finale’s ‘Full Circle’ Moments, Season 5 and ‘Ravenswood’

Listen to the audiobook’s entire first chapter:

Watch Episode 1 of “Best Friends Book Club”:


Looks like you’re enjoying reading
Keep reading by creating
a free account or logging in.