We've Got Hollywood Covered

Ridley Scott to Receive 30th American Cinematheque Award

Previous honorees have included Reese Witherspoon, Matthew McConaughey and Jerry Bruckheimer

Ridley Scott will receive the 30th American Cinematheque Award.

The presentation will take place on Oct. 14 at The Beverly Hilton to honor the director, whose credits include “Thelma & Louise,” “Blade Runner” and “The Martian.”

“The American Cinematheque is extremely pleased to honor Ridley Scott as the 30th recipient of the American Cinematheque award at our celebration this year,” said Rick Nicita, chairman of American Cinematheque. “To state it simply, Ridley Scott is one of the greatest directors in the history of the motion picture.”

Previous honorees have included Reese Witherspoon, Matthew McConaughey, Jerry Bruckheimer, Robert Downey Jr., Matt Damon, Samuel L. Jackson and Al Pacino.

Scott was the the unanimous choice of the Cinematheque Board of Directors selection committee.