We've Got Hollywood Covered

Riz Ahmed Short ‘The Long Goodbye’ Qualifies for Oscars at HollyShorts Film Festival

”Little Bear“ and ”I Am a Pebble“ also win top prizes at Oscar-qualifying festival

Three short films have qualified for the Academy Awards in the shorts categories by winning top prizes at the 17th annual HollyShorts Film Festival, which handed out its awards at Harmony Gold Theater in Hollywood on Friday night.

The winners in HollyShorts’ three Oscar-qualifying categories are “The Long Goodbye,” directed by Aneil Karia and starring Riz Ahmed, which won the Grand Prix as the festival’s best film; “Little Bear,” directed by Nicolas Birkenstock, which won in the Best Live Action category; and “I Am a Pebble,” which was named the festival’s best animated film.

An additional three dozen awards were handed out at the end of the festival, which took place from Sept. 23-30 at the TCL Chinese Theaters, Japan House LA and other locations in Hollywood. The ceremony was hosted by Digital LA founder and CEO Kevin Winston and actress and author Lizza Monet Morales.

The online version of the festival is currently available on the HollyShorts digital platform, Bitpix TV.

Oscar qualifying winners:

Grand Prix Best Short: “The Long Goodbye” directed by Aneil Karia
Prizes: $15,000 camera package from Panavision, sales deal from Eroin Films and management meeting with Alta Global Media.

Best Live Action: “Little Bear” directed by Nicolas Birkenstock
Prizes: Management meeting with Alta Global Media

Best Animation: “I Am a Pebble” from Berteraut Mélanie, Bresson Yasmine, Coulombier Léo, Grondin Nicolas, le Chapelain Maxime, Massé Louise
Prizes: Management meeting with Alta Global Media

Other winners:

Best Action: “Maximus” directed by Richard Prendergast

Best Cinematography: Lasse Ulvedal Tolboll for “Under the Heavens”
Prize: Color correction from Color Space Finishing

Best Comedy: “The Deep End” directed by Sean Pettis
Prize: Trip to Augusta, GA from Film Augusta

Best Commercial: “Widen The Screen” directed by Kevin Wilson Jr.

Best Composer: Brian Hall & Jonah Ramey for “The Night I Left America”
Prize: Meeting with Defiant Talent

Best Director: Jayil Pak for “Georgia”
Prize: Management meeting with Alta Global Media

Best Documentary: “Don’t Go Tellin’ Your Momma” directed by Topaz Jones & Rubberband

Best Drama: “I Would Never” directed by Kiran Deol
Prize: Trip to Augusta, GA from Film Augusta

Best Editing: David Marks for “Electromagnetic”

Best Horror: “Lilias Adie” directed by Elize du Toit
Prize: Distribution by ALTER

Best International: “Fabiu” directed by Stefan Langthaler

Best LGBTQIA+: “Bracha” directed by Mickey Triest & Aaron Geva

Best Midnight Madness: “M*therf—er” directed by Adam Long & Adam Peterson

Best Music Video: “Tell Me A Story” directed by Sasha Solodukhina

Best Podcast: “Carcerem” by Shane Salk

Best Producer: Henry Tumwesigye for “The Night I Left America”

Best SciFi: “Jack and Jo Don’t Want To Die” directed by Kantú Lentz
Prize: Distribution by DUST, meeting with Circle of Confusion

Best Screenplay: “Dummy” written by Andrew Kaberline
Prizes: Seattle Film Summit & 88th Street/HollyShorts grant of $25,000 and Final Draft software. Finished film will screen at HollyShorts 2022.

Best Student Film: “Team Meryland” directed by Gabriel Gaurano

Best Thriller: “Reklaw” directed by Polaris Banks
Prize: Meeting with Circle of Confusion

Best TV Series: “Cronos” directed by Michael Middelkoop

Best TV Screenplay: “Half-Assed” written by Tracie Laymon
Prize: 88th Street option and Final Draft software.

Best VFX: “Untitled Earth Sim 64” directed by Jonathan Wilhelmsson

Best Web Series: “Best Before” directed by Laura Bergeron & Maxime Robin

Hawk Films Screenplay Award: “Glaciers” written by Frank Berry & Matthew Bates
Prizes: $20,000 production package from Hawk Films UK and Final Draft software. Finished film screens at HollyShorts 2022.

HollyShorts Honorable Mention: “Koreatown Ghost Story” directed by Minsun Park & Teddy Tenenbaum

HollyShorts 3rd Place Screenplay: “David” written by Jacob Mittlestadt-Raab
Prize: Final Draft software

Latinx Award:  “Nuevo Rico” directed by Kristian Mercado Figueroa

SAG Indie Award: “Some Still Search” directed by Nesaru Tchaas

Shot on Film Award: “The Archivists” directed by Igor Drljača
Prize: $1,000 for Kodak free film stock

Shot on Film Honorable Mention: “Beity” directed by Isabelle Mecattaf
Prize: $500 for Kodak free film stock

Shot on Film Award – Super 8MM: “Strong Son” directed by Ian Bawa
Prize: $1,000 for Kodak free film stock

Social Impact Award: “Under The Heavens” directed by Gustavo Milan
Prize: $10,000 camera rental package from The Camera Division

Special Jury Mention: “Staff Pick” by Mitchell deQuilettes

Women in Film Award: “Dọlápọ̀ Is Fine” directed by Ethosheia Hylton

Women in Film Screenplay Award: “Sara” written by Jessica L. Hinkson
Prizes: $1,000 from HollyShorts, BECiNE camera gear rental, and Final Draft software. Finished film screens at HollyShorts 2022.