We've Got Hollywood Covered

Ryan Murphy to Receive PGA’s 2018 Norman Lear Achievement in TV Award

Producer has won four Emmys and two PGA Awards

“American Horror Story” and “Glee” creator Ryan Murphy will be honored with the Producers Guild of America’s (PGA) 2018 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, the Guild announced Tuesday.

Murphy will receive the award, honoring the producer’s contribution to the TV industry, at the 29th Annual Producers Guild Awards on Jan. 20 at the Beverly Hilton in Los Angeles.

He has won four Emmys, two PGA Awards, and was also the recipient of the 2014 Stanley Kramer Award. His recent credits include “American Horror Story,” “American Crime Story” and “Feud,” as well as “Nip/Tuck” and “Glee.” He recently wrapped production on “The Assassination of Gianni Versace: American Crime Story” starring Edgar Ramirez, Penelope Cruz and Ricky Martin, which is set to debut early next year.

“Being a prolific producer is itself an achievement,” said Producers Guild Awards chairs Donald De Line and Amy Pascal. “But it takes a truly unique talent like Ryan Murphy to forge a producing career that touches so many different genres — from horror, to comedy, to musicals, to fact-based drama — and infuse them all with such distinctive voice and passion.  In addition to his many other credits, Ryan is even a former producer of the Producers Guild Awards itself, which makes the opportunity to honor him this year even more special.”

James L. Brooks was the 2017 recipient of the Normal Lear Award. Previous honorees include Shonda Rhimes, Mark Gordon, Chuck Lorre, Jerry Bruckheimer, Lorne Michaels, Aaron Spelling, David E. Kelly and Lear himself.