Ryan Murphy’s ‘Pose’ Sets Cast With Record Number of Trans Actors

FX pilot is set in 1980s New York City

Pose cast

Ryan Murphy’s FX pilot “Pose” has announced its cast, setting a scripted TV record with five transgender actors in series regular roles.

The drama’s trans cast members are MJ Rodriguez, Indya Moore, Dominique Jackson, Hailie Sahar and Angelica Ross. They will be joined by Ryan Jamaal Swain, Billy Porter and Dyllon Burnside.

Set in the mid-’80s in New York City, the pilot will examine and juxtapose life in various Manhattan social circles, from the luxury elite to the city’s underground ballroom culture.

Steven Canals co-created the series with Murphy and Brad Falchuk, and will write the series alongside “Transparent” writer Our Lady J and trans activist Janet Mock. Nina Jacobson, Brad Simpson, and Alexis Martin Woodall will also serve as executive producers. The project hails from FX Productions and Fox 21 Television Studios.

“We are thrilled that ‘Pose’ pushes the narrative forward by centering on the unique and under-told experiences of trans women and gay people of color,” Canals said in a statement. “Ryan has assembled a strong team of storytellers and innovators to collaborate on telling this important narrative. As a Bronx-bred queer writer of color, I’m honored to aid in ushering this groundbreaking show into homes.

Michael Roberson, Twiggy Pucci Garçon, Hector Xtravaganza, Skylar King and Sol Williams will serve as consultants. Director Silas Howard will co-executive produce. Leiomy Maldonado and Danielle Polanco will choreograph the show’s ball scenes.