MTV to Launch Comedy Series ‘SafeWord’ From ‘Lip Sync Battle’ Producers (Exclusive)

Kevin Hart, Ludacris and other stars will appear on the show that premieres July 13

Celebrities and comedians are going head-to-head on MTV’s new comedy series “SafeWord,” TheWrap can exclusively announce.

Kevin Hart, Chris “Ludacris” Bridges, Marlon Wayans, Drake Bell and Amber Rose are among the stars who will appear on “SafeWord,” which is hosted by Terrence J and hails from producers of “Lip Sync Battle.” The premiere episode airs on July 13 as part of the network’s “Throwdown Thursdays” comedy block.

Based off the British format that ran on ITV2, MTV has picked up the show for an eight-episode first season that features celebrity guests partnering with comedians to play games in front of a live audience. Over multiple rounds, the teams will face off in numerous challenges, including social media games that are designed to cause drama.

The show will have the spirit of a friendly comedy roast, with the celebs put in uncomfortable situations but allowed to escape by saying their “safeword.”

Other celebs who will appear include Damien Dante Wayans, Kelly Rowland, Nelly, LaLa Anthony, Charlamagne Tha God, Lil Rel Howery, Jermaine Fowler and “13 Reasons Why” cast members Ross Butler and Justin Prentice. 

Among the participating comedians are Carly Aquilino, Sam Jay, Ricky Velez, Leonard Ouzts, Taylor Tomlinson, Akaash Singh, Matt Pavich and Sherry Cola.

An exclusive clip from the series can be seen above, which shows Rose’s Twitter account getting commandeered to provide the world with a shocking message about Beyoncé.

Executive producers for “SafeWord” are Jay Peterson, Todd Lubin and Jerry Carita for Matador. Candida Boyette-Clemons and Paul Ricci executive produce for MTV. James Sunderland is the showrunner, and Michael Simon directs. Terrence Jenkins hosts and executive produces.

The original U.K. version was developed and produced by STV and Motion Content Group.

“SafeWord” premieres on Thursday, July 13, at 11:30 p.m. ET on MTV.