SAG Elections: Anti-Merger Candidates Surface to Take on Ken Howard

SAG announces its candidates for September’s national elections; merger skeptic David Hillberg seeks to unseat Howard; Unite for Strength still dominant

Last Updated: August 4, 2011 @ 6:29 PM

The Screen Actors Guild announced Thursday its candidates for the 2011 National Officer and National Board elections — a vote that could determine whether the current SAG leadership will be successful in its efforts to merge the guild with the American Federation of TV and Radio Artists.

The two-year term positions of national president and national secretary-treasurer are up for vote, as well as a third of the 69 national board seats.

Ballots will be mailed to guild members August 23 with a due date of Sept. 22, the night results are expected to be announced.

Incumbent president Ken Howard will run against anti-AFTRA-merger candidate David Hillberg, as well as Asmar Muhammad and Sharon Rubin.

And Amy Aquino will run unopposed to regain her current position as national secretary-treasurer.

For the Hollywood Division, 12 national board members (11 for a three-year term and another for a one-year term) and 22 alternates will be elected. The New York Division is looking to fill five national board seats, with nine alternates (seats hold three-year terms; alternatives hold one).

To degree, the elections are expected to provide a referendum on Howard's efforts to merge SAG with the American Federation of Radio and TV Artists.
About a dozen of the candidates running for the Hollywood Division board have voiced skepticism regarding the merger — a list that includes Hillberg, but about a dozen others.

However, more than half the candidates seeking the open 57 Hollywood-based seats are of the pro-merger Unite for Strength ilk.

Here's the full candidate list:

2011 SAG Hollywood Division Board Election Candidates
(Candidate names are listed in random order, as they will appear on the ballot.)

1. D.W. Moffett
2. Mimi Cozzens
3. William Mapother
4. Tony Shalhoub
5. Assaf Cohen
6. Scott Pierce
7. Ken Howard
8. Arye Gross
9. Michael O’Neill
10. Ned Vaughn
11. Mandy Steckelberg
12. Bertila Damas
13. Reneé Aubry
14. Robert Elliott
15. Jane Daly
16. George T. Woods
17. Jon Huertas
18. Allen Lulu
19. Bob Bergen
20. Scott Bakula
21. Stephen Mendel
22. Stacey Travis
23. Amy Aquino
24. Peter Antico
25. DeWayne Williams
26. Esai Morales
27. Valerie Harper
28. Tara Radcliffe
29. Stephen Collins
30. Lisa Vidal
31. George Coe
32. Woody Schultz
33. Christine Lakin
34. John Solari
35. Adam Arkin
36. Donal Logue
37. Parvesh Cheena
38. Kate Flannery
39. John Tremaine
40. Conrad E. Palmisano
41. Michelle Allsopp
42. Vivicca A. Whitsett
43. Ellen Crawford
44. David Dorfman
45. Iqbal Theba
46. Mobin Khan
47. Sarayu Rao
48. Ron Ostrow
49. Patrick Fabian
50. Tony Santoro
51. David Hillberg
52. John Carroll Lynch
53. William Charlton
54. James Paradise
55. L. Scott Caldwell
56. David Jolliffe
57. Nicholas Stankevich
2011 SAG New York Division Board Election Candidates

(Candidate names are listed in order by randomly selecting a letter and then listing candidate names alphabetically by last name starting with the letter selected. The letter “K” was randomly selected. Following is the order in which they will appear on the ballot.)
1. Ezra Knight
2. Gy Mirano
3. Joe Narciso
4. Jay Potter
5. Sam Robards
6. John Rothman
7. Kevin Scullin
8. Matt Servitto
9. Manny Alfaro
10. Corey Anker
11. Dave Bachman
12. Marc Baron
13. Justin Barrett
14. Lewis Black
15. Mark Blum
16. Rebecca Damon
17. Kelly Deadmon
18. Andrew Dolan
19. Traci Godfrey
20. Jeff Gurner
21. Phoebe Jonas

2011 SAG Regional Branch Division Board Election Candidates
(Candidate names are listed in alphabetical order, as they will appear on the ballot. In Regional Branches where candidates ran for office unopposed, the candidates may be declared elected without the necessity of a membership vote*.)
Bill Mootos* (elected)

Suzanne Burkhead* (elected)

Ed Kelly* (elected)
Robert Nelson* (elected)
Cece DuBois* (elected)

Art Lynch
Rick Rockne

Washington, D.C./Balt.
Stephen F. Schmidt* (elected)