‘The Shape of Water,’ ‘Wonder Woman,’ ‘I, Tonya’ Top Costume Designers Guild Awards

Television awards go to “The Handmaid’s Tale,” “Game of Thrones” and “The Crown”

The Shape of Water
Fox Searchlight

“The Shape of Water,” “Wonder Woman” and “I, Tonya” have won the top film awards at the 20th annual Costume Designers Guild Awards, which took place on Tuesday night in Beverly Hills.

“Shape of Water” designer Luis Sequeira won the CDG Award in the Excellence in Period Film category, “Wonder Woman” designer Lindy Hemming won in the Excellence in Fantasy Film category and “I, Tonya” designer Jennifer Johnson won in the Excellence in Contemporary Film category.

“The Shape of Water” is also nominated for the Oscar for costume design, but its victory must be considered an upset over fellow Oscar nominee “Phantom Thread,” which was favored both for the CDG Award and the Oscar. Sequeira’s victory came on a night when he also helped present “Shape of Water” director Guillermo del Toro with the Costume Designers Guild Distinguished Collaborator Award.

“Wonder Woman,” meanwhile, beat the Oscar-nominated “Beauty and the Beast” in its category.

Surprisingly, two of the five Oscar nominees for costume design – “Darkest Hour” and “Victoria & Abdul” – were not even nominated by the CDG.

In the 19 previous years of the Costume Designers Guild Awards, one of its winners has gone on to win the Academy Award for costume design nine times. In five of those cases, the Oscar winner has come from the CDG’s period-film category. Two other winners were from the fantasy-film category, and two from the combined period/fantasy category, which existed from 1999 through 2004.

In the three television categories, the winners were “The Handmaid’s Tale” (contemporary television), “The Crown” (period television) and “Game of Thrones” (sci-fi/fantasy television).

Pink’s “Beautiful Trauma” music video won for short -film design.

The ceremony took place at the Beverly Hilton Hotel and was hosted by Gina Rodriguez.

Honorary awards went to del Toro, costume designer Joanna Johnston (Career Achievement Award), jeweler Maggie Schpak (Distinguished Service Award) and actress Kerry Washington (Spotlight Award).

Costume designer John Mollo, whose work included the first two “Star Wars” films, was posthumously inducted into the Costume Designers Guild Hall of Fame by Mark Hamill.

The CDG Awards winners:

Excellence in Contemporary Film: “I, Tonya,” Jennifer Johnson
Excellence in Period Film: “The Shape of Water,” Luis Sequeira
Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Film: “Wonder Woman,” Lindy Hemming

Excellence in Contemporary Television: “The Handmaid’s Tale,” Ane Crabtree
Excellence in Period Television: “The Crown,” Jane Petrie
Excellence in Sci-Fi/Fantasy Television: “Game of Thrones,” Michele Clapton

Excellence in Short Film Design: P!NK: “Beautiful Trauma” music video, Kim Bowen

Career Achievement Award: Joanna Johnston
Distinguished Collaborator Award: Guillermo del Toro
Spotlight Award: Kerry Washington
Distinguished Service Award: Maggie Schpak
Costume Designers Guild Hall of Fame: John Mollo