ShortList Film Festival 2016 Chooses 12 Finalists, Opens for Voting

12 contenders include a documentary following a female boxer in Cuba, a black comedy about a self-aware cannibal and a story about masturbation

The Short List Finalists

TheWrap is pleased to announce the 12 finalists for its fifth annual ShortList Film festival, which launches today on and runs through August 23, 2016.

The 12 finalists include prize winners from the Sundance Film Festival, Toronto International Film Festival, Palm Springs Shortsfest, Los Angeles Film Festival, SXSW, Full Frame Documentary Film Festival, British Academy Film Awards and Student Academy Awards, among many others.

The films will stream online for two weeks, with the Audience Prize chosen by TheWrap’s voting audience. Two other prizes will be awarded, one by an Industry Jury and the other by PepsiCo’s Creator’s League.

The films are a mix of narrative fiction, documentary and animation and the filmmakers come from the United States, Canada, France, Australia and the United Kingdom.

The ShortList showcases 12 award-winning short films hand-picked from the world’s top film festivals of the past year. Three prizes will be awarded:

• The Audience Award of $5,000 will go to the film with the most online votes.

• The Industry Award of $5,000 will be selected by our industry jury.

• The Creator’s League winner chosen by PepsiCo will receive $5,000.

Here are this year’s finalists, please watch and vote:

“Bacon and God’s Wrath”
Director: Sol Friedman
Canada, 9 minutes
A 90-year-old Jewish woman reflects on her life’s experiences as she prepares to try bacon for the first time.

“The Black Belt”
Director: Margaret Brown
USA, 11 minutes
In 2015, the state of Alabama closed 31 DMVs across the state. Many of these closures occurred in the Black Belt, a predominantly African-American region, directly impacting voter enfranchisement in a state that requires photo IDs at the polls.

Director: Meg Smaker
USA/Cuba, 15 minutes
One woman defies Fidel Castro’s ban on female boxing to follow her dreams of Olympic glory and become Cuba’s first female boxer.

Director: Nina Gantz
U.K., 9 minutes
A black comedy about a man with cannibalistic urges who travels back through his life, looking for the root of his unhappiness.

Directors: Bernardo Brito, Alexa Haas
USA, 5 minutes
The true story of a glove that’s been floating in space since 1965.

Director: Matt Kazman
USA, 20 minutes
When Dusty masturbates for the first time, something bad happens…

Director: Maïmouna Doucouré
France, 20 minutes
8-year-old Aida and her family are overwhelmed when her father returns home to Paris from Senegal with a second wife. In response to her mother’s distress, Aida decides to get rid of the new visitor.

Director: Jorn Threlfall
U.K., 14 minutes
“Over” presents a crime scene. During the course of nine wide shots told in reverse order, we witness an intriguing story unfold. What has happened in this quiet neighborhood? A murder, a hit-and-run, an accident? The reality is profound and deeply unexpected.

“The Send-Off”
Directors: Ivete Lucas, Patrick Bresnan
USA, 12 minutes
Emboldened by a giant block party on the evening of their high school prom, a group of students enter the night with the hope of transcending their rural town and the industrial landscape that surrounds them.

Director: David Hansen
Australia, 7 minutes
Frankie is a 10-year-old kid on summer vacation at a run-down trailer park. When Tayla, a 10-year-old girl, shows a romantic interest, Frankie’s holiday becomes a whole lot more complicated. “Slingshot” is an amusing look at modern love through the eyes of one of its latest victims.

“These C*cksucking Tears”
Director: Dan Taberski
USA, 16 minutes
The gritty uncompromising voice behind the first gay-themed country music album — 40 years after its release.

“Thunder Road”
Director: Jim Cummings
USA, 12 minutes
Officer Arnaud loved his mom.

This year’s jury consists of Millenium Films president Mark Gill, director Catherine Hardwicke, Preferred Content CEO Kevin Iwashina, Untitled Entertainment President of Production and Literary Management Jennifer Levine and UTA agent Bec Smith.

The shorts are available now through August 23 for online voting at the ShortFilm Festival website.

The ShortList is sponsored by Pepsi, Creators League Studio, IMAX, YouTube Space LA and FilmLA.