We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Silver Linings Playbook’ Sweeps Satellite Awards

David O. Russell comedy "Silver Linings Playbook" wins five top film awards, including actor and actress for Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence; "Homeland" and "Big Bang Theory" win TV honors


"Silver Linings Playbook" was the big winner at Sunday night's Satellite Awards, a show produced by and voted on by the International Press Academy and held at the Intercontinental Hotel in Beverly Hills.

Silver Linings PlaybookThe David O. Russell comedy, which has been overshadowed in the awards picture by more recent films like "Les Miserables" and "Zero Dark Thirty," won five awards, including Best Motion Picture. Rusell won the award for directing, while stars Bradley Cooper and Jennifer Lawrence were named best actor and actress. The film also won for editing.

Supporting actor and actress awards went to Anne Hathaway for "Les Miserables" and Javier Bardem for "Skyfall."

Mark Boal won the original-screenplay award for "Zero Dark Thirty," while David Magee won the adapted-screenplay honor for "Life of Pi."

Other winners: "Rise of the Guardians," best animated film; "Chasing Ice," best documentary; and a tie between "The Intouchables" and "Pieta" for best foreign film.

Proving that the the IPA is a body of voters inclined toward sweeps, the television series "Homeland" and "The Big Bang Theory" each won three awards in the TV categories, picking up honors as best drama and comedy series, respectively, and also winning the actor and actress awards.

The awards:

Motion picture
: "Silver Linings Playbook"
Director: David O. Russell, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Actor: Bradley Cooper, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Supporting actor: Javier Bardem, "Skyfall"
Supporting actress: Anne Hathaway, "Les Miserables"
Original screenplay: Mark Boal, "Zero Dark Thirty"
Adapted screenplay: David Magee, "Life of Pi"
Motion picture, animated or mixed media: "Rise of the Guardians"
Motion picture, documentary: "Chasing Ice"
Motion picture, international: (tie) "The Intouchables," "Pieta"
Cinematography: Claudio Miranda, "Life of Pi"
Editing: Jay Cassidy and Crispin Struthers, "Silver Linings Playbook"
Score: Alexandre Desplat, "Argo"
Song: "Suddenly" from "Les Miserables"
Sound (editing and mixing): Andy Nelson, John Warhurst, Lee Walpole, Simon Hayes, "Les Miserables"
Visual effects: Michael Lantieri, Kevin Baillie, Ryan Tudhope, Jim Gibbs, "Flight"
Art direction & production design: Rick Carter, Curt Beech, David Crank, Leslie McDonald, "Lincoln"
Costume design: Manon Rasmussen, "A Royal Affair"

Miniseries or movie made for television: "Hatfields & McCoys"
Actor in a miniseries/movie made for television: Benedict Cumberbatch, "Sherlock
Actress in a miniseries/movie made for television: Julianne Moore, "Game Change"
Supporting actor in a miniseries/TV movie: Neal McDonough, "Justified"
Supporting actress in a miniseries/TV movie: Maggie Smith, "Downton Abbey"
Drama series: "Homeland"
Genre series: "Walking Dead"
Actor in a drama: Damian Lewis, "Homeland"
Actress in a drama: Claire Danes, "Homeland"
Comedy or musical series: "The Big Bang Theory"
Actor in a comedy: Johnny Galecki, "The Big Bang Theory"
Actress in a comedy: Kaley Cuoco, "The Big Bang Theory"

Outstanding contribution to the entertainment industry: Terence Stamp
Nikola Tesla Award: Walter Murch
Auteur Award: Paul Williams
Honorary Satellite Award: Bruce Davison
Newcomer Award: Quvenzhane Wallis, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"
Humanitarian Award: Benh Zeitlin, "Beasts of the Southern Wild"
Motion picture ensemble: "Les Miserables"
Television ensemble: "Walking Dead"

Please fill out this field.