We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘Snowpiercer’ Gets Long-Awaited Premiere Date From TNT

TCA 2020: TV adaptation of Bong Joon Ho film will finally get on track this spring

All aboard: TNT has finally set the premiere date for its TV adaptation of “Snowpiercer,” which stars Jennifer Connelly and Daveed Diggs.

The post-apocalyptic sci-fi drama, which is based on the critically acclaimed graphic novel series and the Bong Joon Ho-directed film of the same name, will premiere Sunday, May 31 at 9/8c on the cable channel.

In case you forgot, this is the long-gestating show that started at TNT, moved to TBS and then moved back to TNT. It’s also the show that Josh Friedman wrote the original pilot for and was set to serve as showrunner on, only to be fired over “creative differences” in February 2018 and replaced by “Orphan Black” co-creator Graeme Manson — a decision he did not take well.

Here’s the official description for the TV series, which has already been renewed for a second season: “Set more than seven years after the world has become a frozen wasteland, ‘Snowpiercer’ centers on the remnants of humanity who inhabit a perpetually moving train, with 1001 cars, that circles the globe. Class warfare, social injustice and the politics of survival play out in this riveting television adaptation.”

In addition to Connelly and Diggs, the first season of “Snowpiercer” stars Alison Wright (“The Americans”), Mickey Sumner (“Frances Ha,” “Battle of the Sexes”), Susan Park (“Ghostbusters”), Iddo Goldberg (“Peaky Blinders,” “The Zookeeper’s Wife”), Katie McGuinness (“Dirty Filthy Love”), Lena Hall (“Hedwig and the Angry Inch”), Annalise Basso (“Bedtime Stories”), Sam Otto (“Jellyfish”), Roberto Urbina (“Narcos”), Sheila Vand (“Argo”) and Jaylin Fletcher (“Saturday Church”).

Along with showrunner Manson, “Snowpiercer” is executive produced by Tomorrow Studios’ Marty Adelstein (“Cowboy Bebop,” “Hanna,” “Prison Break”) and Becky Clements (“Hanna,” “Cowboy Bebop,” “Last Man Standing”). Additional executive producers include director James Hawes (“The Alienist,” “Black Mirror”), Matthew O’Connor (“Continuum,” “Tin Man”), Scott Derrickson (“Sinister,” “Doctor Strange”) and the original film’s producers, Bong, Miky Lee, Tae-sung Jeong, Park Chan-wook, Lee Tae-hun and Dooho Choi.

The series is produced by Tomorrow Studios (a joint venture between Marty Adelstein and ITV Studios), along with CJ Entertainment, which produced the original film.