Spielberg Honored by Sound Editors

Steven Spielberg to receive the 2010 Filmmaker Award from the Motion Picture Sound Editors

Last Updated: December 8, 2009 @ 10:44 AM

Steven Spielberg, whose films have led to 10 Academy Awards in the sound categories, has been named recipient of the 2010 Filmmakers Award from the Motion Picture Sound Editors.  

"Steven Spielberg’s evolution of the sound experience and collaboration with the sound and music editors has helped to shape new dimensions in sound," said MPSE president Bobbi Banks in a press release announcing the award, which will be given to Spielberg on February 20 at the Westin Bonaventure Hotel in Los Angeles. 

Among Spielberg’s films, "Jaws," "Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade," "Raiders of the Lost Ark," "E.T.," "Jurassic Park" and "Saving Private Ryan" all won Academy Awards in the sound categories.  The last four of those films won two Oscars each.