We've Got Hollywood Covered

USC, Ringling, School of Visual Arts Top Student Academy Award Winners

Former Student Oscar winner Bob Saget will host the June 8 ceremony


The University of Southern California, Ringing College of Art and Design and the School of Visual Arts each placed two films on the list of Student Academy Award winners, which were announced on Tuesday by the Academy.

Other schools represented on the list of 15 winners in five categories include CalArts, Occidental College, the University of Michigan, Columbia, Elon and the University of Texas at Austin.

This year, the Student Oscars' 40th, marks the first wins for Elon, Occidental and the University of Michigan.

In the foreign-film category, the winners came from schools in the United Kingdom, Switzerland and Belgium.

Dia de los MuertosComedian Bob Saget, himself a Student Oscar winner in 1978, will host the ceremony, which takes place on Sat., June 8 at the Academy's Samuel Goldwyn Theater in Beverly Hills.

Each winner will receive either a gold, silver or bronze medal at the event. While the winners are announced in advance, the level of award is not revealed until the ceremony.

Gold medal winners receive $5,000, while silver and bronze medalists receive $3,000 and $2,000, respectively.

In addition, gold medals qualify winners for Academy Awards in the short-film categories. In the past few years, several Student Oscar winners have gone on to receive Oscar nominations, and one of them, Luke Matheny (“The God of Love”), won the Oscar in 2011 after receiving a Student Academy Award in 2010.

When the Student Oscar finalists were announced on May 1, the School of Visual Arts led all schools with five finalists out of the 34, followed by NYU with four and CalArts, USC, Ringling and the University of Texas at Austin with three. NYU is the only school to place multiple finalists but be shut out of the winners' circle.

ZugPast winners of Student Academy Awards include Robert Zemeckis, Spike Lee, John Lasseter, Pete Docter and Trey Parker.

Tickets to the Student Oscar ceremony are free to the public but must be obtained at the Academy headquarters or at the AMPAS website.

The winners:

“Bottled Up,” Rafael Cortina, Occidental College
“The Compositor,” John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts
“Zug,” Perry Janes, University of Michigan (right)

“Dia de los Muertos,” Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham, Ringling College of Art and Design (photo above)
“Peck Pocketed,” Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and Design
“Will,” Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts (photo at top)

“Every Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists,” Rachel Loube, School of Visual Arts
“A Second Chance,” David Aristizabal, University of Southern California
“Win or Lose,” Daniel Koehler, Elon University

“Josephine and the Roach,” Jonathan Langager, University of Southern California
“Ol’ Daddy,” Brian Schwarz, University of Texas at Austin
“Un Mundo para Raúl (A World for Raúl),” Mauro Mueller, Columbia University

Foreign Film
“Miss Todd,” Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom
“Parvaneh,” Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland
“Tweesprong (Crossroads),” Wouter Bouvijn, RITS School of Arts, Erasmus College Brussels, Belgium