‘Suburbicon,’ ‘The Shape of Water,’ ‘Victoria & Abdul’ Headed to Venice Film Festival

Prestigious Italian festival will also showcase films from Alexander Payne, William Friedkin, Paul Schrader and Ai Weiwei

Last Updated: July 27, 2017 @ 5:12 AM

George Clooney’s “Suburbicon,” Guillermo del Toro’s “The Shape of Water” and Stephen Frears’ “Victoria & Abdul” are headed to the 2017 Venice International Film Festival, Venice organizers announced on Thursday.

Those three films that will be joined on the Lido by a roster of high-profile international films that includes Martin McDonagh‘s “Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Koreeda Hirokazu’s “The Third Murder,” Adbellatif Kechiche’s “Mektoub, My Love: Canto Uno,” Paolo Virzi’s “The Leisure Seeker” and Darren Aronofsky‘s “mother!”

Also on tap for Venice are new films from American directors Paul Schrader (“First Reformed”), James Toback (“The Private Life of a Modern Woman”), William Friedkin (“The Devil and Father Amorth”) and documentarian Frederick Wiseman (“Ex Libris – The New York Public Library”).

Artists Ai Weiwei and Laurie Anderson will also be represented by work in the festival — Weiwei with the feature “Human Flow” and Anderson with the VR project “La Camera Insabbiata.”

Venice previously announced that its opening-night film would be Alexander Payne‘s “Downsizing,” starring Matt Damon, and that “Our Souls at Night” will screen as part of a tribute to its stars, Jane Fonda and Robert Redford.  “Downsizing” will kick off the festival on Wednesday, August 30, with Venice concluding 10 days later on September 9.

Many of the films that were announced on Thursday are also heading to the Toronto International Film Festival, which runs from September 7 through September 17.

“Downsizing” and “The Shape of Water” are also likely to play in Telluride, which starts two days after Venice and runs for four days over Labor Day weekend.

The 74th Venice International Film Festival lineup:

“Ammore e Malavita,” Manette Bros.
“Downsizing,” Alexander Payne (opening film)
“Ex Libris – The New York Public Library,” Frederick Wiseman
“First Reformed,” Paul Schrader
“Foxtrot,” Samuel Maoz
“Hannah,” Andrea Pallaoro
“Human Flow,” Ai Weiwei
“Jia Nian Hua” (“Angels Wear White”), Vivian Qu
“Jusqu’A La Grande,” Xavier Legrand
“L’Insulte,” Ziad Doueiri
“La Villa,” Robert Guediguian
“Lean on Pete,” Andrew Haigh
“The Leisure Seeker,” Paolo Virzi
“Mektoub, My Love: Canto Uno,” Adellatif Kechiche
“mother!” Darren Aronofsky
“Sandome No Satsujin” (“The Third Murder”), Koreeda Hirokazu
“Suburbicon,” George Clooney
“Sweet Country,” Warwick Thornton
“The Shape of Water,” Guillermo del Toro
“Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri,” Martin McDonagh
“Una Famiglia,” Sebastiano Riso

“Brawl in Cell Block 99,” S. Craig Zahler
“Diva!,” Francesco Patierno
“Il Colore Nascosto Delle Cose,” Silvio Soldini
“Il Signor Rotpeter,” Antonietta de Lillo
“La Melodie,” Rachid Hami
“Le Fidele,” Michael R. Roskam
“Loving Pablo,” Fernando Leon de Aranoa
“Our Souls at Night,” Ritesh Batra
“Outrage Coda,” Kitano Takeshi (closing film)
“The Private Life of a Modern Woman,” James Toback
“Victoria & Abdul,” Stephen Frears
“Wormwood,” Errol Morris
“Zama,” Lucrecia Martel

“Cuba and the Cameraman,” Jon Alpert
“The Devil and Father Amorth,” William Friedkin
“Happy Winter,” Giovanni Totaro
“Jim & Andy: The Great Beyond, The Story of Jim Carrey, Andy Kaufman and Tony Clifton,” Chris Smith
“My Generation,” David Batty
“Piazza Vittorio,” Abel Ferrara
“Ryuichi Sakomoto: Coda,” Stephen Nomura Schible
“This is Congo,” Daniel McCabe

“Bedoune Tarikh, Bedoune Emza” (“No Date, No Signature”), Vahid Jalilvand
“Brutti e Cattivi,” Cosimo Gomez
“Caniba,” Lucien Castaing-Taylor, Verena Paravel
“Especes Menacees,” Gilles Bourdos
“Gatta Cenerentola,” Alessandro Rak, Ivan Cappiello, Marino Guarnieri, Dario Sansone
“Ha Ben Dod” (“The Cousin”), Tzahi Grad
“Ha Edut” (“The Last Testament”), Amichai Greenberg
“Invisible,” Pablo Giorgelli
“Krieg,” Rick Osterman
“La Nuit Ou J’Ai Nage Oyogisugita Yoru,” Damien Manivel, Igarashi Kohei
“La Vita in Comune,” Edoardo Winspeare
“Les Bienheureux,” Sofia Djama
“Los Versos del Olvido,” Alireza Khatami
“Marvin,” Anne Fontaine
“Napadid Shodan” (“Disappearance”), Ali Asgari
“Nico, 1988,” Susan Nicchiarelli (opening film)
“The Rape of Recy Taylor,” Nancy Buirski
“The Testament,”
“Undir Trenu” (“Under the Tree”), Hafsteinn Gunnar Sigurdsson
“West of Sunshine,” Jason Raftopoulos

“Anos Luz” (“Light Years”), Manuel Abramovich
“Evviva Giuseppe,” Stefano Consiglio
“La Lucida Follia di Marco Ferreri” (“Dangerous But Necessary”), Selma Jean Dell’Olio
“L’Utopie des Images de la Revolution Russe” (“The Russian Revolution Through Its Films”), Emmanuel Hamon
“The Prince and the Dybbuk,” Elwira Niewiera
“La Voce di Fantozzi,” Mario Sesti
“This is the War Room,” Boris Hars-Tschachotin

“Controfigura,” Ra Di Martino
“Manuel,” Dario Albertini
“Nato a Casal di Principe,” Bruno Oliviero
“Suburra – La Serie,” Michele Placido, Andrea Molaioli, Giuseppe Capotondi
“Tueurs,” Francois Troukens, Jean-Francois Hensgens
“Woodshock,” Kate Mulleavy, Laura Mulleavy

“Casa D’Altri,” Gianna Amelio
“Michael Jackson’s Thriller 3D,” John Landis
“Making of Michael Jackson’s Thriller 3D, (1983)” Jerry Kramer

“La Lunga Strada Del Ritorno” (1962), Alessandro Blasetti
“Barbiana ’65 la Lezione di Don Milani,” Alessandro G.A. D’Allesandro
“Lievito Madre – Le Ragazze del Secolo Scorso,” Concita de Gregorio, Esmeralda Calabria

“Melita,” Nicolas Alcala
“La Camera Insabbiata,” Laurie Anderson, Huang Hsin-Chien
“The Last Goodbye,” Gabo Arora
“My Name Is Peter Stillman,” Lysander Ashton, Leo Warner
“Alice, the Virtual Reality Play,” Mathias Chelebourg
“Arden’s Wake (Expanded),” Eugene YK Chung
“Greenland Melting,” Nonny De La Pena
“Dongducheon” (“Bloodless”), Gina Kim
“Nothing Happens,” Un Kranot, Michelle Kranot
“Shi Meng Lao Ren” *”The Dream Collector”), Mi Li
“Snatch VR Heist Experience,” Rafael Pavon, Nicolas Alcala
“Nefertiti,” Richard Mills, Kim-Leigh Pontin
“Proxima,” Mathieu Pradat
“Chuang (In the Pictures),” Qing Shao
“Dispatch,” Edward Robles
“The Argos File,” Josema Roig
“Gomorra VR – We Own the Streets,” Enrico Rosati
“Draw Me Close, Chapters 1-2,” Jordan Tannahill
“Jia Zai Lanre Si (The Deserted),” Tsai Ming-Liang
“I Saw the Future,” Francois Vautier
“Hver Sin Stilhed (Separate Silences),” David Wedel
“Free Whale,” Zhang Peibin

“Beautiful Things,” Giorgio Ferrero
“Shaheed” (“Martyr”), Mazen Khaled
“Strange Colours,,” Alena Lodkina