We've Got Hollywood Covered

Swedish Comedy ‘The Square’ Dominates European Film Awards

Ruben Ostlund’s Oscar contender wins six awards, including best actor; Alexandra Borbely takes best actress for ”On Body and Soul“


“The Square” was named the best European film of 2017 at the European Film Awards, which were handed out on Saturday in Berlin.

The dark comedy, which won the Palme d’Or at the Cannes Film Festival and is Sweden’s entry in the Oscar foreign-language race, also won awards for its star, Claes Bang, and for writer-director Ruben Ostlund, who won both the screenplay and directing prizes. It was also named the year’s best comedy, and picked up a previously announced award for its production design.

Alexandra Borbely was named best actress for “On Body and Soul,” which is the Hungarian Oscar entry.

The Oscar foreign-language shortlist will be announced next week, with “The Square” a favorite to be included and “On Body and Soul” a strong dark-horse candidate.

“Loving Vincent” and “Communion” won the awards for animated film and documentary, respectively. British director William Oldroyd’s “Lady Macbeth” won the Discovery Award.

Actress, writer and director Julie Delpy received the Achievement in World Cinema Award, while Russian director Aleksandr Sokurov won the EFA Lifetime Achievement Award.

Winners chosen by more than 3,000 members of the European Film Academy.

Best European Film: “The Square”
Director: Ruben Ostlund, “The Square”
Actor: Claes Bang, “The Square”
Actress: Alexandra Borbely, “On Body and Soul”
Screenwriter: Ruben Ostlund, “The Square”
Documentary: “Communion”
Animated Feature: “Loving Vincent”
Comedy: “The Square”
People’s Choice Award: “Stefan Zweig – Farewell to Europe”
Cinematographer: Michail Krichman, “Loveless”
Editor: Robin Campillo, “BPM (Beats Per Minute)”
Production Designer: Josefin Asberg, “The Square”
Costume Designer: Katarzyna Lewinska, “Spoor”
Hair & Make-Up Artist: Leendert van Nimwegen, “Brimstone”
Composer: Evgueni & Sacha Galperine, “Loveless”
Sound Designer: Oriol Tarrago, “A Monster Calls”
Discovery: “Lady Macbeth”
Short Film: “Timecode”
Achievement in World Cinema: Julie Delpy
EFA Lifetime Achievement Award: Aleksandr Sokurov