‘Terminator’ Producer Gale Anne Hurd to Receive Selznick Award from PGA

Movie and TV veteran to be honored at the 26th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony in January

Gale Anne Hurd
Getty Images

Gale Anne Hurd will receive the 2015 David O. Selznick Achievement Award in Motion Pictures, the Producers Guild of America (PGA) announced Wednesday. The award, which recognizes a producer’s outstanding body of work in motion pictures, will be presented to her at the 26th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony in January.

The film and TV veteran is perhaps best known for producing two iconic James Cameron films, “The Terminator — which they co-wrote —  and “Aliens.” But she also currently serves as an executive producer on television’s most-watched scripted drama, AMC’s “The Walking Dead.”

See photos: ‘Walking Dead’ Season 4 Death Toll: 34 and Counting

“I am humbled to be mentioned in the same breath as the legendary producer David O. Selznick, and to receive an award in his name is truly an honor in and of itself,” Hurd in a statement. “But even more important to me is the recognition it represents from my esteemed peers and colleagues at the Producers Guild of America.”

Over the past 30 yearsd Hurd has gone on to produce many acclaimed films, including Cameron’s “The Abyss” and “Terminator 2: Judgement Day,” and also “The Ghost in the Darkness.” Hurd’s company, Valhalla Motion Pictures, currently has an overall deal with Universal Cable Productions to develop television and digital series, including the recently announced series, “Hunters,” set to premiere on SyFy in 2016.

“For decades, Gale Anne Hurd has been a trailblazer in motion pictures,” PGA co-chairs Todd Black (“The Pursuit of Happyness”) and Ryan Murphy (“American Horror Story”) said in a statement. “Her early films, such as ‘Aliens’ and ‘The Terminator’ trilogy, created the template for a generation of action films. … We can’t imagine a more fitting producer to honor in the name of the great David O. Selznick.”

Also read: AMC’s ‘Walking Dead’ EP Teases 5 Things to Expect on Season 5

Past recipients of the David O. Selznick award include Stanley Kramer, Saul Zaentz, Billy Wilder, Clint Eastwood, Jerry Bruckheimer, Brian Grazer, Laura Ziskin, Roger Corman, Kathleen Kennedy & Frank Marshall, Scott Rudin, Steven Spielberg and last year’s recipients Michael G. Wilson & Barbara Broccoli.

The 26th Annual Producers Guild Awards ceremony will be held on Saturday, Jan. 24, 2015 at the Hyatt Regency Century Plaza in Los Angeles.