‘The Americans’ to End After 2 More Seasons

FX spy drama starring Keri Russell and Matthew Rhys renewed through Season 6

The Americans Matthew Rhys Kerri Russell

FX has ordered two more seasons of its hit spy drama “The Americans,” setting its series finale for the conclusion of Season 6, the cable network announced Wednesday.

The Keri RussellMatthew Rhys espionage thriller follows the two as Russian KGB agents who pose as married suburban couple Elizabeth and Philip Jennings in Washington, D.C.

A 13-episode fifth season will air in 2017, followed by a 10-episode sixth and final season in 2018. The show is currently in the midst of its fourth season.

“Through its first four seasons, critics have lauded ‘The Americans’ as one of the best shows on television and, remarkably, a series that keeps getting better every year,” said Eric Schrier, co-president of Original Programming for FX Networks and FX Productions, in a statement.

“All credit for that achievement goes to everyone who has worked on the show, and especially co-showrunners Joe Weisberg and Joel Fields, Graham Yost, our brilliant stars Keri Russell, Matthew Rhys, Noah Emmerich, Allison Wright, Holly Taylor, Annet Mahendru and the ensemble cast for their incomparable performances every season. We have no doubt that this two-season order will allow Joe and Joel to tell this story to its perfect conclusion.”

“The Americans” airs Wednesdays at 10 p.m. ET on FX.