‘The Birdcatcher’s Son’ Wins the Audience Choice Award at the Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Festival also announces 2021 dates

The Santa Barbara International Film Festival (SBIFF) announced on Saturday the winners of the 35th edition of the festival, which featured 47 world premieres and 71 U.S. premieres from 50 countries.

The festival’s top award, the audience choice award, went to Richard Hobert’s “The Birdcatcher’s Son.”

The winners were chosen by a jury consisting of Jason Baffa, Max Barbakow, Lisa Black, Alex Carter, Geoff Green, Paul Kurta, Perry Lang, Artie Schmidt, Rita Taggart, Diego Tinoco, John Williams, and Anthony & Arnette Zerbe.

“It’s been a wonderful 35 years celebrating international cinema as well as our local roots. We are grateful for all of the staff, volunteers, audiences and filmmakers that were able to join us at SBIFF to come together as a community to celebrate over 200 films – forge a sense of community and love that defies boundary,” SBIFF Executive Director Roger Durling.

In addition to the winners of the 35th festival, the SBIFF said that its 36th edition, featuring more than 200 films, including over 120 world and U.S. premieres, industry panels, celebrity tributes, and educational and free community programs will be held throughout Santa Barbara on Jan 27 through Feb. 6, 2021.

Below is a full list of winners for the 35th edition:

Audience Choice Award Sponsored by The Santa Barbara Independent: 

Richard Hobert’s “The Birdcatcher’s Son” (Fågelfångarens son)

Best Documentary Short Film Award: 

Henry Roosevelt’s “Sixth of June”

Bruce Corwin Award – Best Live-Action Short Film: 

Jianna Maartin’s “Sin Cielo”

Bruce Corwin Award – Best Animated Short Film: 

Jonathan Langager’s “Cosmic Fling”

Best Documentary Award sponsored by SEE International:

Brian Morrison’s “Bastards’ Road”

Jeffrey C. Barbakow Award – Best International Feature Film:

Fatos Berisha’s “The Flying Circus (Cirku Fluturues)”

Panavision Spirit Award for Independent Cinema: 

William Nicholson’s “Hope Gap”

Nueva Vision Award for Spain/Latin America Cinema: 

Gerardo Herrero’s T”he Goya Murders”

Valhalla Award for Best Nordic Film: 

Jesper W. Nielsen’s “The Exception (Undtagelsen)”

ADL Stand Up Award sponsored by ADL Santa Barbara/Tri-Counties: 

Lydia Dean Pilcher’s “Liberté: A Call to Spy”

Social Justice Award for Documentary Film: 

Katherin Hervey’s “The Prison Within”