‘The Crown’ Season 4 Reveals First Look at Emma Corrin’s Princess Diana, Gillian Anderson as Margaret Thatcher (Photos)

New season of royal drama launches Nov. 15 on Netflix

The Crown S4

Netflix has revealed a first look at Emma Corrin as Princess Diana and Gillian Anderson as Margaret Thatcher in the upcoming fourth season of “The Crown,” which debuts Nov. 15.

See the first-look photos below, released by the streaming service Tuesday, which include shots of Corrin’s Diana next to Princes Charles (played by Josh O’Connor), Anderson as the Iron Lady, Queen Elizabeth II (Olivia Colman) and Prince Philip (Tobias Menzies) standing side by side in their regal attire, and Princess Margaret (Helena Bonham Carter) looking rather pensive, among many others.

Here’s the logline for the 10-episode Season 4, which will cover 1979-1990, courtesy of Netflix:

As the 1970s are drawing to a close, Queen Elizabeth (Olivia Colman) and her family find themselves preoccupied with safeguarding the line of succession by securing an appropriate bride for Prince Charles (Josh O’Connor), who is still unmarried at 30. As the nation begins to feel the impact of divisive policies introduced by Britain’s first female Prime Minister Margaret Thatcher (Gillian Anderson), tensions arise between her and the Queen which only grow worse as Thatcher leads the country into the Falklands War, generating conflict within the Commonwealth. While Charles’ romance with a young Lady Diana Spencer (Emma Corrin) provides a much-needed fairytale to unite the British people, behind closed doors, the Royal family is becoming increasingly divided.

“The Crown” Season 4 stars Colman as Queen Elizabeth II, Menzies as Prince Philip, Carter as Princess Margaret, Anderson as Margaret Thatcher, Erin Doherty as Princess Anne, O’Connor as Prince Charles, Marion Bailey as The Queen Mother and Corrin as Diana Spencer.

Series creator Peter Morgan executive produces “The Crown” along with Stephen Daldry, Andy Harries, Suzanne Mackie, Benjamin Caron, Robert Fox and Matthew Byam Shaw.

In July, Netflix and Morgan revealed the series will run for six seasons after all, following their January announcement that Season 5 would be the drama’s final year — despite Morgan having stated for years that his vision for “The Crown” had always been a six-season run.

“As we started to discuss the storylines for Series 5, it soon became clear that in order to do justice to the richness and complexity of the story we should go back to the original plan and do six seasons,” Morgan said in a statement July 9. “To be clear, Series 6 will not bring us any closer to present day – it will simply enable us to cover the same period in greater detail.”

The announced cast for “The Crown’s” final two seasons currently includes Imelda Staunton as Queen Elizabeth II, Lesley Manville as Princess Margaret, Jonathan Pryce as Prince Philip, and Elizabeth Debicki as Princess Diana.

“The Crown” is expected to take a production hiatus before filming on Season 5 begins next June, meaning that installment won’t premiere until 2022.

“The Crown” Season 4 launches Nov. 15 on Netflix.

the crown season 4 diana

The crown

the crown season 4

The Crown S4 The Crown S4 The Crown S4 The Crown S4 The Crown S4 The Crown S4 The Crown S4


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.