We've Got Hollywood Covered

‘The Young and the Restless’ Renewed by CBS for 4 More Years

Daytime drama has been airing for over 47 years

CBS has renewed daytime drama “The Young and the Restless” for four more years.

The series has been airing on CBS for over 47 years and will continue on through the 2023-24 broadcast season.

“Having the #1 show for any length of time in any daypart is a tremendous accomplishment,” said Kelly Kahl, president of CBS Entertainment. “But ‘The Young and the Restless’ has been daytime’s top drama for over three decades. The last time any other show was on top, Ronald Reagan was president, and the Berlin Wall was still standing. It’s a remarkable achievement and a testament to the extraordinary cast, gifted writers, talented producers and supremely passionate fans, as well as our tremendous partnership with Sony Pictures Television.”

“We are thrilled to continue the legacy of ‘The Young and the Restless’ at CBS, as this renewal will take us to our 50th anniversary in 2023, and beyond,” said Steve Kent, senior executive vice president of programming at Sony Pictures Television. “The iconic characters created by William J. Bell and Lee Philip Bell 47 years ago continue to captivate audiences in the U.S. and across the globe, and we look forward to building on the dynamic storylines featuring these beloved characters.”

The series stars Melody Thomas Scott (Nikki Newman), who recently celebrated 40 years on the show, Peter Bergman (Jack Abbott), who celebrated 30 years, Joshua Morrow (Nicholas Newman) and Sharon Case (Sharon Newman), who celebrated 25 years, and Bryton James (Devon Hamilton), who celebrated 15 years. Next month, Eric Braeden (Victor Newman) will also hit the 40 year mark.

Other stars include Marla Adams, Lauralee Bell, Donny Boaz, Tracey Bregman, Sasha Calle, Doug Davidson, Sean Dominic, Melissa Claire Egan, Cait Fairbanks, Camryn Grimes, Mark Grossman, Amelia Heinle, Elizabeth Hendrickson, Tyler Johnson, Christel Khalil, Hunter King, Christian J. Le Blanc, Kate Linder, Beth Maitland, Michael Mealor, Mishael Morgan, Melissa Ordway, Greg Rikaart, Brytni Sarpy, Michelle Stafford, Jason Thompson, Jordi Vilasuso and Jess Walton. 

The series is produced by Bell Dramatic Serial Company in association with Sony Pictures Television, with Anthony Morina serving as executive producer and Josh Griffith serving as head writer and co-executive producer.

“The Young and the Restless” airs weekdays from 12:30-1:30 p.m. ET/11:30 a.m.-12:30 p.m. PT on CBS.