Tracy Morgan, George Lopez to Honor Eddie Murphy at Mark Twain Prize Event

All-star tribute will take place Oct. 18 at the Kennedy Center

Getty Images

Tracy Morgan and George Lopez have been added to the all-star list of talent who will honor comedian Eddie Murphy on Oct. 18 when he receives the 18th annual Mark Twain Award for American Humor, the Kennedy Center said Monday.

Morgan and Lopez will join newly installed “Daily Show” host Trevor Noah, Chris Rock and Dave Chappelle in honoring “Beverly Hills Cop” star Murphy at the event, which will take place at the Kennedy Center in Washington, D.C.

Also on hand to fete Murphy will be Whitney Cummings, Kathy Griffin, Arsenio Hall, Sam Moore, Kevin Nealon, Jay Pharoah and Joe Piscopo.

“I am deeply honored to receive this recognition from the Kennedy Center and to join the distinguished list of past recipients of this award,” Murphy said of the award.

Tickets for the event, which raises funds for the Center’s educational and artistic initiative, range from $500 to $50,000.

Recent honorees of the prize include Jay Leno, Carol Burnett, Ellen DeGeneres and Will Ferrell.