‘Walking Dead’ Producer, ‘Hugo’ Screenwriter to Be Honored at UCLA Film Festival (Exclusive)

"Walking Dead" producer Gale Anne Hurd, John Logan and Julie Dash will receive special awards for the June festival

"The Walking Dead" producer Gale Anne Hurd and "Hugo" screenwriter John Logan are among those who will be honored at the UCLA School of Theater, Film and Television Film Festival this year. Hurd and Logan will be joined by fellow honoree Julie Dash, director of "Daughters of the Dust" and "The Rosa Parks Story."

Getty Images

Dash, a UCLA MFA '85 graduate, will receive the Distinguished Alumnus Award during the festival's opening night on June  8 at the James Bridges Theater. Logan will receive the Excellence in Screenwriting award on June 11, and Hurd will be feted with the TFT/PGA Vision Award on June 12.

June 11 will also mark the 17th annual Screenwriters Showcase, which celebrates the work of graduate screenwriting students. Excerpts from eight scripts by students — "Jumping Ship" by Kurtis Estes; "Please Don't Feed the Children" by Paul Bertino; "Sins of the Father" by Tamara Carter; "Wendigo" by Devin Fearn; "Vinegar Hill" by Michael Brettler; "After Life" by Jim Mcdermott; "Orion" by Janis Robertson; and "Paradise" by Maggie Malone — who've been chosen as finalists in a competition that began in March will be presented.

“We have a truly remarkable group of industry honorees for 2012,” Teri Schwartz, dean of the School of Theater, Film and Television, said. “Their wonderful career accomplishments are in great harmony with our new vision for TFT. Each honoree is a great inspiration to our students. It is an honor and pleasure to present this distinguished group with special awards this year.  Congratulations to all the honorees and to our amazing students for what will be another outstanding Film Festival.”

The festival runs June 8 to June 14.

On June 12, the Festival will feature its Producers Marketplace contest, where four graduate student finalists from UCLA's Producers Program. The students — Allison Avery, Julia Fontana, Glenn Lund and Nicole Stiers — will be judged by Millennium Films' Mark Gill and Silverwood Films' Lynette Howell.