WGAW Announces Initial List of Board of Directors Candidates

17 candidates are set to vie for eight open seats on the board of directors of the Writers Guild of America, West, with an election to be held on Sept. 20. 

The Writers Guild of America, West’s Nominating Committee has announced its initial list of candidates for the 2012 Board of Directors election.

There are 17 candidates nominated to run for eight open seats on the WGAW’s board of directors: Meg LeFauve, Marjorie David, Patrick Sean Smith, David Shore, Terrence Coli, John Aboud, Eric Small, Jordan Mechner, Zoanne Clack, Barbara Turner, Michael Oates Palmer, Scott Alexander, Alexander Cary, David A. Goodman, Katherine Fugate, Kathy Kiernan, Chip Johannessen.

Shore, Goodman, Fugate and Kiernan are incumbents.

Also read: 'The Descendants,' 'Midnight in Paris' Are Tops With Writers Guild

Members may vote by mail or in person at the WGAW’s annual membership meeting on Sept. 20. Ballots will be counted on Sept. 21.

In addition to candidates selected by the nominating committee, eligible members may also be nominated by petition. Members seeking nomination for the board of directors must obtain 25 member signatures. The deadline for submitting signed petitions to the WGAW is noon on July 23. Members may submit online nomination petitions by visiting the members-only section of the WGAW’s website.

The WGAW will host its annual “Candidates Night” forum, where Guild members may meet the candidates and get answers to their questions, on Wednesday, Sept. 5, at WGAW headquarters in Los Angeles.

Guild members will receive candidate, non-candidate, and rebuttal statements, if any, with their ballots prior to the election. Candidates may also mail additional campaign materials at their own expense. 

The WGAW represents writers of movies, TV, radio and Internet programming.